“Your IP address may be exposed”

The Application and social network X (Twitter)P Property of Elon Musk has begun Expand the ability to make audio and video calls for all users of the platform who now do not require a subscription to X Premium to use it, as reported in a recent statement.

The social network began implementing an option to carry out Audio and video calls in October 2023, as part of its vision to turn X into an app for everything. Specifically, a feature was released that only users with premium subscriptions on iOS devices had access to.

Later, in January 2024, the platform added this calling option to the version of the app for Android devices. However, it remained a feature only available to users subscribed to the social network.

Now, X has begun implementing audio and video calling for all users of the platform, regardless of whether they have a subscription,” the statement said. can make and receive callsby simply clicking the call icon in the top right corner in direct message chats.

Likewise, X has explained that users can receive calls from accounts that they follow or that they have “in their address book”, i.e. in their contacts. To call another user, you must also have sent a direct message to the person you want to call at least once.

Warning for X users

However, this appears to have a downside, as some media reported. This is what was reported by various media last March 3rd X has automatically enabled a privacy-altering feature on all profiles as they may reveal your IP address.

This new calling feature appears to be enabled by default and displays the IP address of the device connected to the Internet, as evidenced by the new security options added to the “Privacy and Security” section within Direct Messages. In particular, those who already have access to calls and video calls may see a toggle on both iOS and Android that has them enabled by default, but which the user can disable.

Read Also:  For years, General Motors shared its customers' driving data with insurers

X Corp clarifies that the ability to make and receive calls is limited to contacts with whom the user has exchanged a message via direct messages, with the aim of limiting spam or unwanted calls.

However, it is also possible to specify that calls can be made to all contacts, only to verified users, only to people the user follows (default option), or only to people they have in their contact book.

There is also another switch called “Enhanced Call Privacy,” which is disabled by default and when enabled “prevents the IP address from being shared with the other person during a call.” This means that the new X-Calling feature is enabled by default for people the user follows and Do Not Disturb is disabled.

However, it is also possible to specify that calls can be made to all contacts, only to verified users, only to people the user follows (default option), or only to people they have in their contact book.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here