The White House announced Sunday, May 8 in a press release that “the whole G7” is silentcommitted today to banning or phasing out imports of Russian oil”.

>> War in Ukraine: what are the alternatives to Russian gas and oil for Europeans?

This decision “will deal a blow to the main artery irrigating the economy of (Vladimir) Putin and deprive him of the income he needs to finance his war”affirms the American executive, without specifying which commitments exactly made each of the members of the G7, namely Germany (which has the presidency this year), Canada, the United States, France, Italy, Japan, and the UK.

The United States, which were not big consumers, have already banned the import of Russian hydrocarbons.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here