Why Spain is not in the G7

Iran’s direct attack on Israel with missiles and drones this Saturday in response to the April 1 attack against the Iranian consulate in Damascus and which was attributed to Israel, has been condemned by the international community, which is pushing to prevent an escalation of war in the region.

The G7 met this Sunday in a video call to analyze the impact of the attack, which they condemned “unanimously”. In a statement, its leaders called for regional escalation to be avoided.

“We express our full solidarity and support for Israel and its people and reaffirm our commitment to their security. With your actions Iran has taken another step towards destabilizing the region and there is a risk of uncontrollable regional escalation,” the White House statement said.

The G7 countries also warned that they were prepared to “take new measures now in response to further destabilizing steps.”

What is the G7?

The G7, or Group of Seven, is a global political forum that includes seven of the world’s nine largest economies. Every year it will be Heads of state and government of these countries meet to discuss different topics.

As the French diplomacy website points out, for some the G7 plays a role as a “guide” and “political stimulus”. shared values: promotion of democracy, respect for human rights, free and inclusive market economy, respect for international law.

The countries that make up this forum are: United States, Japan, Germany, United Kingdom, France, Italy and Canada.

Why Spain is not in the G7

As for our country, Spain was not invited to participate in the G7 are not among the richest countries in the world.

The summit was launched in 1975 and between that year and the year 2000 the G7 have increased from 70% of global GDP to 55%. The countries in the forum concentrate about 10% of the world’s population and 65% of international trade.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here