This player will captain against Bangladesh in the absence of Hasaranga, Sri Lanka have made a big announcement

Image source: GETTY
Match Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka

BAN vs SL: The last few years have been full of turmoil for Sri Lankan cricket. The team constantly remains in the limelight on one topic or another. This time too, something similar was witnessed when on February 21, in the third T20I between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan, due to a decision made by umpire Lyndon Hannibal, the captain of the Sri Lankan team, Wanindu Hasaranga, confronted him and said many things about him. He was suspended for two T20Is by the ICC after a clash with umpire Lyndon Hannibal. In such a situation, the team has to announce a new captain for the upcoming T20 series.

This player received the captaincy

Charith Asalanka will captain Sri Lanka in place of the suspended Wanindu Hasaranga for the first two of the three T20 matches against Bangladesh, starting March 4 in Sylhet. Appointed vice-captain Asalanka will lead Sri Lanka for the first time. Hasaranga will return as captain for the final T20I on March 9. Sri Lanka have fielded opening batsman Avishka Fernando in place of Pathum Nissanka, who is recovering from an injury sustained in the recent series against Afghanistan. Leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay, who last played in a T20 International in February 2022, has also been recalled.

Return of these players after years

Fernando came into the team due to his good ODI form. In the series against Afghanistan, he scored 91 runs off 66 balls and 88 runs off one ball in two of the three matches. He last played a T20 match in January last year and due to his fitness and form, his presence in the Sri Lanka team was very limited. However, it seems that this new group of Sri Lankan selectors want to bring him back into the top teams.

Read Also:  T20 World Cup: This team has scored the highest number of points, India is at the fourth position

Speaking of Vandersay, he last played a T20 match two years ago. In the games for which Hasaranga is suspended, he replaces Hasaranga. Akila Dhananjay and Mahesh Theekshana are the other frontline spinners in the team. In such a situation, the team seems to be fully prepared for this series. The first T20 match will take place on March 4th. The entire series is set in Sylhet.

Sri Lanka’s T20 squad against Bangladesh

Wanindu Hasaranga (captain of the last match), Charith Asalanka (captain of the first two matches), Kusal Mendis, Sadira Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Mahesh Theekshana, Dhananjay de Silva, Kusal Zenith Perera, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thosehara, Mathisha Pathirana , Akila Dhananjay, Binura Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Avishka Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay

also read

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here