T20 World Cup 2024: For the first time in history, so many teams are playing, who is in which group?

Image source: PTI
T20 World Cup 2024, so many teams are playing for the first time in history

T20 World Cup 2024 Team Update: The World Cup in the shortest format of cricket will take place in June. The games start on June 1st. This time the World Cup will be held in the USA and West Indies. The West Indies have hosted the tournament before, but this tournament will be held in the United States for the first time. What’s new at this year’s World Cup? We will tell you, but one at a time. Today you should know how many teams are playing this time and which team will be in which group with whom.

20 teams will play in the T20 World Cup 2024

20 teams from around the world will take part in the T20 World Cup 2024, their names have been announced. Previously, when this tournament was held in 2022, 16 teams took part, but now for the first time there are 20 teams. West Indies and the USA are the hosts, so their places have already been determined. After that, the teams that were in the top 8 at the 2022 World Cup will also have direct entry. In addition to Team India, these include Australia, England, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka.

ICC ranking teams were also given entry

The teams that were in the top 10 of the ICC T20 Rankings until November 14, 2022 have also received a place. That’s why Afghanistan and Bangladesh got a place. After that, the remaining teams came after the qualifiers organized by the ICC recently. From Europe, Ireland and Scotland got the place. PNG, i.e. New Papua Guinea of ​​East Asia Pacific, has confirmed its place to take part in it. Canada was replaced by America and Nepal and Oman by Asia. Namibia and Uganda registered via the Africa Qualifier. So there are 20 teams in total.

ICC has formed 4 groups for the World Cup

Now if we talk about groups, ICC has divided 20 teams into a total of 4 groups. India and Pakistan were placed in Group A. Teams from Ireland, Canada and the USA are also represented. In addition to England and Australia, teams from Namibia, Scotland and Oman are also represented in Group B.

Super 8 games will be played after the group stage

ICC has placed Afghanistan, PNG and Uganda in Group C of the World Cup alongside New Zealand and West Indies. In addition to South Africa and Sri Lanka, teams from Bangladesh, the Netherlands and Nepal are represented in Group D. This means that ICC has ensured that apart from the two big teams in each group, the remaining teams are kept small so that all teams have a full chance of progressing. The teams that remain in the top 2 in their respective groups will be promoted to the Super 8. The other teams’ journey will end there.

also read

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here