Licey will debut today against Mexico in the Caribbean Series

The Tigres del Licey, Dominican champions, leave at noon this Thursday in an effort to increase their personal dominance -and that of the country in general- in the Caribbean Series that this time will be held in Caracas and La Guaira in Venezuela.

With a bittersweet history in that country, the Tigers will face seven other teams in this extraordinary version -number 65- as they seek to increase their particular successes to 11 and the generals to 22.

Licey (10) and the Dominican Republic (21) lead the lifetime ranking of the top winners as a team and country.

And, as always, the label of favorite haunts the Dominican club that this time will collide with six champions -Puerto Rico, Venezuela, Mexico, Cuba, Panama and Colombia- and the Wildcats team from Curaçao.

The Tigers have triumphed on Venezuelan soil in the 1973 (5-1, Tom LaSorada), 1977 (6-0, Bob Rogers) and 1994 (5-1, Casey Parsons) editions. But in their last three appearances they have left empty-handed in 2002 (Bob Geren, 3-3), 2006 (Rafael Landestoy, 4-2) and 2014 (José Offerman, 2-2).

Under the direction of José Offerman, on the field, and Fernando Ravelo -replacing the “unemployed” Audo Vicente- in management, it is understood that the Licey has everything it takes to succeed in the face of the difficult competition.

The rotation in the first five games is made up of Raúl Valdés, Domingo Robles, Esmil Rogers, César Valdez and Steve Moyers. Yennsy Díaz and Lisalverto Bonilla will be the long relievers and emergency starters. The relief is guaranteed with the presence of Fernando Abad, Jonathan Aro, Jairo Asencio, Williams Jerez, Jesús Liranzo and Keury Mella.

Read Also:  Will Rohit Sharma Become Captain After T20 World Cup?

Michael De La Cruz, Carlos Paulino and Webster Rivas have been registered as receivers.

The roster is completed by infielders Robinson Canó, Michael De León, Kelvin Gutiérrez, Ramón Hernández, Yamaico Navarro, Gustavo Núñez, Ramón Torres and Henry Urrutia and outfielders Luis Barrera, Emilio Bonifacio, Junior Lake and Mel Rojas Jr.



Emilio Bonifacio CF

Robinson Cano 2B

Yamaico Navarro 1B

Henry Urrutia BD

Mel Rojas Jr. LF

Kelvin Gutierrez 3B

Junior Lake RF

Webster Rivas C.

Gustavo Nunez SS


DR calendar

Thursday 2 – Mexico, 12 pm

Friday 3 – Cuba, 2:30 pm

Saturday 4 – P. Rico, 2:00 pm

Sunday 5, – Venezuela, 7:30 pm

Monday 6, – Panama, 2:00 pm

Tuesday 7 – Colombia, 6:00 pm

Wednesday 8- Curaçao, 2:00 pm

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here