Launch of the Euskaltel Euskadi in Derio

Launch of the Euskaltel Euskadi in Derio

At the Euskaltel headquarters in Derio, a season that they trust will be full of success has been presented with expectation. The cycling family grows to 62 young athletes who see their dreams come true thanks to the support and encouragement of the social mass in each competition and some sponsors committed to a sports and social project. All together promote the relevance and authenticity of Fundación Euskadi. Euskaltel and Labor Kutxa they are the main sponsors of the professional teams, men’s and women’s, respectively. It is also Hafesa Group which consolidates its collaboration with the Foundation for the third consecutive year. And this year joins the sponsorship HZEiDF. And, of course, with two usual travel companions as they are Orbea and Etxeondo.

For the fourth consecutive year, the Euskaltel-Euskadi It will continue in the elite as a ProTeam team and aspires to compete in Itzulia, the Donostia classic and the Vuelta a España, among other events on the international calendar. The Labor Kutxa continues with its growth and takes another leap in 2023, aspiring to compete in the most important races on the sports calendar, and with an eye on the WorldTour in 2024. The youth academy Labor Kutxa shares colors with them and will continue to be the nursery for home talent and in which comprehensive training is above any result.

Xabier Iturbe, president of Euskaltel, has confirmed during the act that “every year, when this appointment is repeated, the emotion is the same. And is not for less. It is a day in which we reaffirm our commitment and our pride in our cyclists”. “Euskaltel Euskadi means cycling not only in our land, but throughout the world. The academy that the Euskadi Foundation has created over all these years, taking the passion for cycling and our athletes to all corners of the world, is the best representation that the Basque Country could have. For this reason, Euskaltel’s support is reaffirmed year after year: we feel proud of the tradition we have inherited and responsible for a project that is unique in the world”, he highlighted.

Jesús Ezkurdia, President of the Euskadi FoundationFor his part, he highlighted “the illusion, gratitude and pride” of the project. “I want to continue growing in all areas, with our two professional teams and our youth system. Thanks to all our sponsors, and especially Euskaltel, Laboral Kutxa, Orbea and Etxeondo, for their commitment to the Euskadi Foundation; Grupo Hafesa for continuing to support us for another year; and HZEidf join the project. And pride for the social mass that follows us year after year, those partners that support us, that encourage us in the ditches, and that make us unique”.

Likewise, he pointed out, “and I do not want to forget the people who make up and also make this Euskadi Foundation different, the runners, the technical management and the assistants, who with their tireless and committed work make us bigger and allow us to face the challenges with courage, ambition and humility. Let’s all continue to grow together. For our part, we are going to give everything so that you feel proud of a Euskadi Foundation with a historic past, an exciting present and a promising future”.

Euskaltel-Euskadi (UCI Pro Team): 20 cyclists.

Enekoitz Azparren, Xabier Mikel Azparren, Ibai Azurmendi, Iker Ballarín, Xabier Berasategi, Mikel Bizkarra, Joan Bou, Carlos Canal, Unai Cuadrado, Asier Etxeberria, Peio Goikoetxea, Unai Iribar, Xabier Isasa, Mikel Iturria, Txomin Juaristi, Juan José Lobato, Andoni López de Abetxuko, Gotzon Martín, Luis Ángel Maté and Antonio Soto.

Labor Kutxa-Euskadi Foundation (UCI Women’s Continental Team): 17 cyclists.

Naia Amondarain, Mireia Arriazu, Inés Cantera, Ariana Gilabert, Yurani Blanco, Tania Calvo, Idoia Eraso, Lija Laizane, Eider Merino, Usoa Ostolaza, Nadia Quagliotto, Laura Rodríguez, Marta Romeu, Alba Teruel, Aileen Schweikart, Mireia Trías and Eneritz Vadillo .

Labor Kutxa amateur: 25 cyclists.

Imanol Aceña, Aimar Galdos, Luis García, Gabriel Ibáñez, Ruben Rodrigues, Yerai Sastre and Alejandro Villacastín; Aitor Agirre, Nicolás Alustiza, Danel Casais, Sergio Lorenzo, Maxime Renoux and Unai Zubeldia; Asier Castilla, Iker Mintegi, Ander López, Manuel Rodríguez, Jaime Romero and Jagoba Uranga; Iker Barandiaran, Iñaki Díaz and Iker Trigo; Ander Ganzabal, Ailetz Lasa and Iñaki Murua.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here