Home World Ecuador extends state of exception from three to six provinces due to...

Ecuador extends state of exception from three to six provinces due to protests

Ecuador amplía estado de excepción de tres a seis provincias por protestas

The government of Ecuador decided on monday extend the state of emergency from three to six provinces due to the violence recorded during indigenous protests for eight days, reported the presidency.

Conservative President William lassowho declared the measure from Saturday for the provinces of Pichincha (whose capital is Quito), Cotopaxi and Imbabura, extended it to Chimborazo, Tungurahua and Pastaza, said the government house through its Communications Secretariat.

"This decision protects the welfare of citizens against violence. At the same time, the rights of those who demonstrate peacefully are protected."he added.

The opposition and majority Confederation of Indigenous Nationalities (Conaie) has been carrying out week protests with roadblocks and demonstrations in cities demanding a reduction in fuel prices.

To dialogue, the movement that participated in revolts that overthrew three presidents between 1997 and 2005 conditions lasso that attends to a list of 10 points such as setting the price of a gallon of diesel at 1.50 dollars and that of regular gasoline at 2.10 dollars.

In almost a year, diesel a 90% (at $1.90) and gasoline at 46% (at 2.55). Since last October prices have been frozen by social pressure.

The intermittent closure of roads has spread to more than half of the 24 provinces, according to reports from the state Security Service ECU911.

The demonstrations have led to clashes with the public force, leaving 63 agents injured and another 21 detained and released, according to the Police.

The Alliance of Organizations for Human Rights reported in turn 79 detainees and 55 civilians injured.

No Comments

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version