Home Sports Donovan and Beasley inducted into America’s Hall of Fame

Donovan and Beasley inducted into America’s Hall of Fame

Donovan y Beasley son seleccionados al Salón de la Fama de Estados Unidos

Landon Donovan and DaMarcus Beasley were elected into the US National Soccer Hall of Fame on Saturday and will be inducted on May 6 along with Lauren Cheney Holiday.

Donovan was elected on 46 of the 48 ballots for 95.8% of the vote. Beasley appeared on 45 ballots (93.8%) and Cheney Holiday on 40 (83.3%). The top two players who appear on at least half of the ballots are chosen along with any third-place finisher who appears on at least 75%.

Lori Chalupny was fourth with 32 votes (66.7%), followed by Nick Rimando (29, 60.4%), Josh McKinney (25, 52.1%), David Beckham (23, 47.9%), Cat Reddick Whitehall (17, 35.4%), Robbie Keane (16, 33.3%) and Pablo Mastroeni (15, 31.3%).

Donovan, 40, was a midfielder and forward who scored 57 goals in 157 international matches from 2000 to 2014. He is tied with Clint Dempsey for the United States record for goals and is second in appearances behind Cobi Jones’s 164. Donovan was voted United States Soccer Federation Male Athlete of the Year in 2003, 2004, 2009 and 2010.

Scored five World Cup goals, including one in second-half injury time against Algeria as the United States advanced to the round of 16 in 2010. Helped the Americans win the CONCACAF Gold Cup in 2002 , 2005, 2007 and 2013.

Donovan won Major League Soccer titles with the Los Angeles Galaxy in 2005, 2011, 2012 and 2014 and a United States Open Cup championship in 2005. He scored 145 times in 340 games for Los Angeles and the San Earthquakes. Francisco, behind the 171 goals Chris Wondolowski has on the MLS top scorer list.

Donovan played with San José from 2001 to 2004, with Bayer Leverkusen from 2004 to 2005, with the Galaxy from 2005 to 2016, with Bayern Munich in 2009, with Everton in 2010 and with León in 2018.

He became the first manager of the San Diego Loyal, of the second division of the United Soccer League, ahead of the 2020 season.

Beasley, 40, became the first American to play in four World Cups: 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014. Defender and midfielder, he scored 17 goals in 126 caps between 2001 and 2017. Beasley won five Gold Cup titles of CONCACAF, the first four with Donovan and also in 2017.

No Comments

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version