Home Sports Buitrago achieves victory 34 for Colombia in Giro d’Italia

Buitrago achieves victory 34 for Colombia in Giro d’Italia

Buitrago achieves victory 34 for Colombia in Giro d'Italia

It took a year and a day for Santiago Buitrago to win again in the Giro d’Italia. He did it this May 26 with a time of 5 hours, 28 minutes and 7 seconds, leaving almost a minute difference with the Canadian Derek Gee, who was the one who fought the most with the Colombian to stay with the victory. However, the strength and conviction of the Bahrain rider prevailed against the wear and tear of the Israel Premier Tech cyclist. The country already has 34 stage victories in this competition, the first being in 1973 by Martín ‘Cochise’ Rodríguez.

“Spend all the bullets today”, Santiago Buitrago’s slogan, who from the start of the stage was attentive to break away with 10 other runners who kept up the pace in the first ascents. Little by little, the Colombian was taking down rivals until he was with Derek Gee in the final 5 km to define the day. It is his second victory in the Giro d’Italia after having done so in the previous version.

Colombia already has two stage victories in the Giro d’Italia 2023

Santiago Buitrago joins Einer Rubio, the one from the Movistar Team had already achieved stage 13 and today the one from the Bahrain Victorious did it, showing that ours are still valid on the mountain of the big races. First it was Cras Montana and then in Tre cime di Lavaredo, the two riders showed their class to leave their rivals without options.

There are 2 stages left to finish the Giro d’Italia and three Colombians in competitionthe only one who has not yet won is Fernando Gaviria, who has the last option on Sunday in Rome, after several failed attempts in the sprints.

Colombia’s 34 stage victories in the history of the Giro d’Italia

Colombia started winning stages in the Giro in 1973

  1. 1973: Martin ‘Cochise’ Rodriguez (Firenze-Forte del Marmi, 150 km).
  2. 1975: Martin ‘Cochise’ Rodriguez (Baselga-Pordenone).
  3. 1989: Luis Herrera (Padova-Three Peaks of Lavaredo, 207 km).
  4. 1989: Luis Herrera (Mendriso-Monte Generosso, CRI 10.7 km).
  5. 1992: Luis Herrera (Latina-Alto del Teminillo, 204 km).
  6. 1995: Oliverio Rincon (Val Senales, 240 km).
  7. 1997: Jose Jaime Gonzalez (Brunico-Passo del Tonale).
  8. 1999: Jose Jaime Gonzalez (Monte Sirino, 170 km).
  9. 2000: Victor Hugo Pena (Lignano Sabbiadoro-Bibione).
  10. 2001: Carlos Contreras (Cavalese-Arco, 166 km).
  11. 2005: Ivan Parra (Mezzocorona-Ortisei St. Ulrico, 218 km).
  12. 2005: Ivan Parra (Egna-Neumarkt, 210 km).
  13. 2006: Luis Felipe Laverde (Aosta – Domodossola, 223 km).
  14. 2007: Luis Felipe Laverde (Tivoli and Spoleto, 177 km).
  15. 2012: Miguel Angel Rubiano (Urbino-Porto Sant’Elpidio, 209 km).
  16. 2013: Rigoberto Urán (Cordenons-Altopliano del Montasio, 167 km).
  17. 2014: Rigoberto Urán (Barbaresco-Barolo, 41.9 km CRI).
  18. 2014: Nairo Quintana (Ponte di Legno-Val martello, 139 km).
  19. 2014: Julian Arredondo (Belluno-Panarotta, 171 km).
  20. 2014: Nairo Quintana (Bassano-Monte Grappa, 26.8 km CRI).
  21. 2016: Esteban Chavez (Farra d’Alpago – Corvara in Badia, 210 km).
  22. 2017: Fernando Gaviria (Tortoli – Cagliari, 148 km).
  23. 2017: Fernando Gaviria (Pedara – Messina, 159 km).
  24. 2017: Nairo Quintana (Montenero di Basaccia – Majella, 149 km).
  25. 2017: Fernando Gaviria (Forli – Reggio Emilia, 229 km).
  26. 2017: Fernando Gaviria (Reggio Emilia – Tortona, 167 km).
  27. 2018: Esteban Chaves (Caltanisseta – Etna, 164 km).
  28. 2019: Fernando Gaviria (Vinci – Orbetello, 220 km).
  29. 2019: Esteban Chavez (Treviso – San Martino di Castrozza, 151 km).
  30. 2021: Egan Bernal (Castel di Sangro – Campo Felice, 158 km).
  31. 2021: Egan Bernal (Sacile – Cortina d’Ampezzo, 153 km).
  32. 2022: Santiago Buitrago (Ponte di Legno – Lavarone, 168 km).
  33. 2023: Einer Rubio (Borgofranco d’Ivrea – Crans Montana, 199 km).
  34. 2023: Santiago Buitrago (Longarone – Tre Cime di Lavaredo, 183 km).

No Comments

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version