Agreement between Conmebol and Concacaf for an integrated Copa América

Conmebol and Concacaf announced this Friday the signing of a strategic collaboration agreement to strengthen and develop soccer in both regions. The deal includes men’s and women’s national team competitions and a new club tournament.

According to him official statement, the 2024 Copa América will be played in the United States, in the summer of 2024, and will include the 10 Conmebol teams and the six best Concacaf teams, as guests. This traditional South American soccer tournament will be co-organized by both confederations. Concacaf countries will have the opportunity to qualify for this competition through the 2023/24 Concacaf Nations League.

For Conmebol, this agreement will support its men’s national teams in their preparation for the upcoming World Cup through an expanded Copa América with six elite Concacaf teams, organized in the region that will host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

For its part, it will allow Concacaf to provide more high-quality competition for its men’s national teams over the next two years, including the conclusion of the 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League, the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup, the Concacaf Nations League 2023/24.

For the women’s national teams, Concacaf has invited the top four Conmebol women’s national teams to participate in the 2024 Concacaf Gold Cup W. The inaugural edition of this tournament will be played in the United States. The 12-team contest is a key part of the new Concacaf women’s national team competition schedule.

The two Concacaf teams that will participate in the 2024 Summer Olympics (United States and Jamaica or Canada) will receive a bye to the 2024 Concacaf Gold Cup W. The remaining six Concacaf teams will be determined through the Concacaf W Qualifier. 2023.

The four invited Conmebol teams that will participate have been determined based on the results of the 2022 Copa América Femenina: Brazil (champion), Colombia (runner-up), Argentina (third place) and Paraguay (fourth place).

Conmebol and Concacaf will also organize a “final four”-style centralized club competition involving the best clubs from the respective confederations. The four participating teams (two from each confederation) will qualify through the existing Conmebol and Concacaf club competitions and the two confederations are working so that the first edition of this tournament will be played in 2024.

“Conmebol and Concacaf are linked by historical and affective ties. But above all, we are united by the passion, characteristic of all America, for soccer and sport. We are determined to renew and expand our joint initiatives and projects. We want this passion to translate into more and better competitions and for soccer and its values ​​to grow and strengthen throughout the hemisphere. Without a doubt, both confederations believe in big and we will work with this orientation”, commented the Paraguayan Alejandro Domínguez, president of Conmebol.

Meanwhile, Victor Montagliani, President of Concacaf, said: “This partnership is to support the continued growth of men’s and women’s soccer in Concacaf and Conmebol, and it will truly be of mutual benefit to both Confederations. Working hand in hand with Conmebol, we will offer elite competitions that will provide more opportunities for our federations and that we know the fans want to see. We will work together to ensure that football in both regions continues to thrive.”

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here