WTC Finale: Big Team Squad News, ICC Released Special Update

Image source: TWITTER, ICC
IND vs AUS WTC Final

The final match of the second edition of the World Test Championship (WTC) will be played between India and Australia from June 7 at Kennington Oval in London. For this high-octane mega-match, both teams had announced their final 15-member squads. Before this match for the Indian team, injuries were still a major problem. Ishan Kishan was included in the squad after KL Rahul got injured. And he got injured during IPL 2023 in Qualifier 2. After this he didn’t even come to bat in that match and Mumbai was given a concussion substitute.

No concrete update has surfaced regarding Ishan Kishan. At the same time, there are questions about the fitness of Jaydev Unadkat, a member of the 15-member squad. Unadkat also had a bad fall during practice at IPL 2023 when his leg got caught in the net. After this, his shoulder was injured. Following this injury, Jaydev Unadkat did not play any games and was also sidelined for the entire season. So far, BCCI has not released any update on this. We have to see if he is fit until this game or not. Apart from this, the directive had kept three players on stand by, of which, making a change, Yashasvi Jaiswal was given a ticket to go to London.

ICC gave a special update

Now a special update has been released from the ICC regarding the team for the final match of the World Test Championship. The ICC has shared the final 15-member squads from both teams on its website. In this ICC roster, two reserve players from Australia have been selected. At the same time, three reserve players for India are included. That means a total of 35 players will be seen for both teams in this match. There were doubts about the fitness of Josh Hazlewood in the Australian team and Michael Nessel was expected to remain on standby but this did not happen. Now, if teams have to change their 15-member roster, they have to prioritize the waitlist first. But even after this, if any strange situation arises, a special permission must be obtained from the ICC.

Squads of both teams

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (week), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan (goalie).

Standby: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav

Australia: Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey (week), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (week), Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Steve Smith (vc) , Mitchell Starc, David Warner.
Substitute: Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Renshaw

Read this too:-

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here