WTC 2021-23: See how Team India’s journey went

Image source: INDIA TV
WTC 2021-23: Team India complete journey

The second edition of the World Test Championship (WTC) has now reached its final stage, that is, the final match. At the end of this edition, the Australian team was at the top of the points table and the Indian team was in second position. It started from the year 2021 and now its final match will be played from June 7 to 11. This is the second consecutive final for Team India. At the beginning of the year 2021, the team was runner-up. India was defeated by New Zealand in the final. Now this time, the India team would like to make history at Oval to heal that wound. Before that, let us know how was the journey of Team India in this second edition. The special thing is that during this period, the India team had to face defeat in the series only once.

India played a total of 17 test matches in this edition over the 6 series. Of which they won 11 and lost in 4. At the same time, two test matches were also drawn during this period. Out of these 6 series India won four while one series was drawn and in one the team had to face defeat. The team started this season with the England series under the captaincy of Virat Kohli. After that, after captaining in seven Test matches, Virat also stepped down from Red Ball Cricket’s captaincy on the tour of South Africa. During this, Virat captained in 7 out of 17 matches and Jaspreet Bumrah and KL Rahul took command of the team in 1-1 matches. In the remaining 8 matches, the reigning starting captain Rohit Sharma took the reins.

Read Also:  Supporting India's Moushumi Mau Empowerment

Gavaskar Border Trophy 2023

Image source: PTI

Photo of Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023

How was the journey of Team India in the WTC 2021-23

  1. 2021-22: ENG vs IND, Series tied 2-2 (4 Tests)
  2. 2021: IND vs NZ, India won 1-0 (2 Tests)
  3. 2021-22: SA vs IND, South Africa won 2-1 (3 Tests)
  4. 2022: IND vs SL, India won 2-0 (2 Tests)
  5. 2022-23: BAN vs IND, India won 2-0 (2 Tests)
  6. Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023: IND vs AUS, India won 2-1 (4 Tests)

Which Indian captain has the best record?

Under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, the team won 4 out of seven test matches and lost two. And a test against New Zealand in Kanpur also ended in a draw. KL Rahul and Bumrah failed to win the team under their captaincy. Rohit Sharma’s record has been excellent and the team won six out of eight matches with one match ending in a draw. At the same time, the team was defeated in only one match, which was against Australia in the indoor test during the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023. Now, Rohit’s real test will be at Oval, where he will step down as captain in the ninth test. If the team wins here, it can make history and end the 10-year ICC trophy drought.

Read this too:-

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here