Home Sports World Cup T20: This was the journey of Australia and New Zealand...

World Cup T20: This was the journey of Australia and New Zealand to the final

World Cup T20: This was the journey of Australia and New Zealand to the final

Image source: GETTY
T20 World Cup: road to final in australia and new zealand

After 25 days of impressive matches, the two finalist teams of the T20 World Cup have met. Now the final will be played between Australia and New Zealand. New Zealand has always been successful in reaching the final of all three ICC formats. Earlier this year they won the World Trials Championship title and finished runner-up in the 2019 Cricket World Cup. At the same time, in 2015 they also remained runner-up, meaning they have become the team that played in the finals of three consecutive World Cups.

Australia defeated Pakistan to reach the final. Chasing 177 for victory, the Australian team made 177 in 19th over with one over remaining. In a troubled moment, Matthew Wade crossed the line when the game ended by hitting three sixes on a single over Shaheen Afridi.

Road to the final:

New Zealand

The Blackcaps got off to a bad start to the T20 World Cup when they lost their opener to Pakistan, raising questions about the Kane Williamson-led New Zealand team’s claim.

Following this, New Zealand trampled India for eight wickets in their second match, in which Trent Boult performed brilliantly to restrict India to 110. The Kiwi team had won this match with five and a half overs remaining.

Scotland chased the Kiwis 172 runs for 16 runs. At the same time, he achieved an easy victory over Namibia. After this, Afghanistan was also hit.

There were Boult and Tim Southee who the Afghanistan hitters couldn’t resist and dropped to just 124/8. After this, New Zealand easily won the match and reached the semi-finals.

But now they had to face England in the semi-finals. New Zealand was struggling to chase 167 runs in this match. The Kiwis needed 57 runs of 24 balls, Jimmy Neesham scored 23 runs in an over by Chris Jordan and starter Daryl Mitchell scored an undefeated 72 of 47 balls to win the game.

star player

Daryl Mitchell: He gave the Black Caps quick runs in the power play and was also strengthened by Devon Conway in the middle order. He scored 27 runs on 20 balls against Pakistan and played a major role in the victory against India by scoring 49 runs on 35 balls. In the semifinals, he took one of the best entries of the tournament so far, leading the team to the final.

Trent Boult: This fast star bowler has proven to be dangerous and inexpensive. He then won four consecutive Super 12 matches to reach the semi-finals.


In the first match of Super 12, Australia beat South Africa with great difficulty in the last over. In the semi-final against Pakistan, Australia chased the target with one remaining envelope and made it to the final.

Video: Hasan Ali is the main bowler, it’s people’s job to say so – Babar Azam

star player

David Warner: Ending Australia’s concerns, Warner has scored 236 runs averaging 47.20 in the tournament. Now he is fit like other players. Warner has two half centuries in this T20 World Cup, but his most important performance was in the semi-final against Pakistan, where 49 crucial runs came off his bat.

Adam Zampa: Only Wanindu Hasaranga from Sri Lanka has taken more ground than the Australian mystery roulette. In between, Zampa has managed to slow down the opposition run and he and Glenn Maxwell put a stop to Pakistan’s fast start before firing Babar Azam. Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood on the team believe that Zampa is the star player on the team.


No Comments

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version