Home Sports World Cup squad analysis: captain-vice-captain dominance in Team India

World Cup squad analysis: captain-vice-captain dominance in Team India

World Cup squad analysis: captain-vice-captain dominance in Team India

Image Credit: GETTY
Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya

Team India squad was announced on Tuesday 5th September for the ODI World Championship to be hosted in India from 5th October 2023. There was a lot of excitement that many players were not included in this roster. Ignoring Sanju Samson and Yuzvendra Chahal caused a huge uproar on social media. On the other hand, if you observe this 15-strong squad closely, you can clearly see that the captain and vice-captain dominate them. We say this because a total of 7 players from the IPL teams of captain Rohit Sharma and vice-captain Hardik Pandya belong to this 15-man main squad.

If we look at Team India’s World Cup squad, there are a maximum of four players in the Mumbai Indians team, which is captained by Indian captain Rohit Sharma. After that, the players of the Gujarat Titans are a maximum of three players, captained by the vice-captain of the Indian team, Hardik Pandya. At the same time, two players each from RCB, KKR and Delhi Capitals are part of the World Cup squad. One player each from the Lucknow Super Giants and the Chennai Super Kings got a place in the World Cup squad. While none of the Sunrisers Hyderabad, Rajasthan Royals and Punjab Kings players are part of the World Cup squad.

Image source: INDIA TV
Team India World Cup 2023 Squad

How many players of which IPL team belong to the World Cup squad?

  • Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Jaspreet Bumrah
  • Gujarat Titans: Hardik Pandya (Vice Captain), Shubman Gill, Mohammed Shami
  • Capitals of Delhi: Akshar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav
  • RCB: Virat Kohli, Mohammad Siraj
  • KKR: Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer
  • Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul
  • Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja

Image source: INDIA TV
Schedule of the Team India World Cup 2023

Care is taken to repeat the 12-year-old story

For the first time, the ODI World Cup will be organized solely in India. India will be the second country of this kind after England. At the beginning of 2011, matches of the World Cup were also held in India, but at that time Bangladesh and Sri Lanka were also co-hosts. That year, India hosted most of the World Cup matches on its soil. The final was held at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The Indian team won the ODI World Championship for the second time since 1983 by beating Sri Lanka. Now, after 12 years, once again when the land is ours, the grounds are ours and the audience is ours, Team India will enter this Mahakumbh with the intention of making the trophy their own.

Also read this:-

Asian Cup 2023: Full schedule from Sri Lanka’s entry into Super 4, know when and when Team India will take the field

No Comments

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version