With David, there are 19 immortals to play in the Caribbean Series

David Ortiz’s arrival in the Hall of Fame makes him the 19th player to reach a niche in Cooperstown and have participated in the Caribbean Series.

The other immortals to have played in that Classic at one point in their careers since it was established in 1949 are Monte Irvin, with Cuba in 1949; Hoyt Wilhelm, with Cuba in 1951; Willard Brown with Puerto Rico in 1951-1953; Luis Aparicio, did it with Venezuela in 1954; Willie Mays did it with Puerto Rico in 1955; Roberto Clemente, with his native Puerto Rico in 1955-1958; Jim Bunning, with Cuba in 1957; Tom LaSorda, did it with Cuba in 1959; Orlando Cepeda, was part of Puerto Rico in 1960; Tany Pérez and Reggie Jackson, were members of the Puerto Rico team in 1971; Rod Carew, with the Tigres de Aragua of Venezuela in 1972; Frank Robinson, with Puerto Rico; Rickey Henderson, with Puerto Rico in 1980; Roberto Alomar, with Puerto Rico and Pedro Martínez with the Dominican Republic in 1995; Iván Rodríguez, with Puerto Rico in 1996 and Vladimir Guerrero with the Dominican Republic in 2002.

Poland with has seven rings

He won with the Leones del Esgido in 1988, with the Tigres del Licey in 1999, and with the Águilas Cibaeñas in 1997, 1998, 2001, 2003 and 2007. Regarding his offensive records, his leadership in games stands out (78 ) and hits (90).

Miguel Tejada better in home runs
As far as Tejada is concerned, the fact that he participated 11 times in these classics stands out, including nine consecutive appearances (2000-2008) and holds the record for the most home runs for life with 15.

Read Also:  Big update on Suryakumar Yadav's fitness ahead of the T20 World Cup. Do you know when he will recover...

Tejada owns the records for the most doubles (18), home runs (15), runs scored (54) and runs produced (47) in the history of the Caribbean Series.


Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here