Will Ponting’s record for most ODI wins as captain be broken this year?

Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting was a force to be reckoned with in ODI cricket. He was very successful as a captain and a player. He is the first Australia captain to win the Kangaroo team two consecutive World Cups. He is the third batsman in the world to score the most runs in ODI cricket. Ponting, who retired from ODI in 2012, has many records to his name. As captain, his name still holds the record for recording the most ODI wins. Now the question arises, will the record for most matches won by him in ODIs be broken this year? Let’s examine it.

Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting won the most in 165 caps while captaining his team. It has been over 10 years for him to retire from ODIs. But this record is still registered in his name. Apart from Ponting, while he captained the team, MS Dhoni won 110, Allan Border 107, Stephen Fleming 98, Hansie Cronje 99, Graeme Smith 92, Mohammad Azharuddin 90 and Arjun Ranatunga won 89 ODIs. Although there are other names on this list, but these captains are included in the top-8.

There is a saying that records are made to be broken. But there are some records that are not broken for a single generation. It takes many generations to break them. This Ponting album is like that. At present, if we look at ODI captains around the world, then there is no captain in Ponting’s record. Every ODI captain who had the guts to reach his record has retired. Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Graeme Smith and Eoin Morgan have said goodbye to international cricket. Currently, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has won 44 caps as captain of his team. He is far from Ponting’s record. This shows that there is no threat to Ricky Ponting’s record in the near future.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here