Why couldn’t Sri Lanka and the West Indies make it straight to the Super-12? Learn how to get entry now

The real battle of the T20 World Cup will start from the 22nd of October. From this day the matches of the Super-12 round will begin. The eight teams in this round were decided only on November 15 last year, but the remaining four teams will enter the Super-12 through the qualifying round. Big teams like Sri Lanka and West Indies will also be seen here playing qualifying matches.

Actually, the teams from Sri Lanka and West Indies could not qualify directly in the Super-12 of the T20 World Cup 2022. Therefore, now it will be their turn to play the qualifiers. The ICC had made a rule last year for direct entry into the Super-12 of T20 World 2022. Under this, in addition to the champion and runner-up of the T20 World Cup 2021, a provision was made for the other top 6 teams in the ICC T20 ranking get direct entry into the Super-12 round of the T20 World Cup 2022 by November 15, 2021.

Australia was proclaimed champion in the T20 World Cup 2021 and New Zealand was runner-up. In addition to these, other top 6 teams as of November 15, 2021 included England, Pakistan, India, South Africa, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. In such a situation, these eight teams gained direct entry into the T20 World Cup 2022. The rest of Sri Lanka and the West Indies, who were ranked 9th and 10th in the T20 rankings on November 15, 2021, did not find a place in the Super-12.

Read Also:  Automating Reporting And Analytics Processes

The qualifying round (first round) matches will start in Australia from October 16. 8 teams will participate in this round. Along with Sri Lanka and the West Indies, this includes the Netherlands, the United Arab Emirates, Namibia, Ireland, Zimbabwe, and Scotland. These 8 teams are divided into two groups. That is, there will be 4 teams in a group. Each team will play one match each with the other three teams in their group. A total of 12 games will be played. All these matches will be played from October 16 to 21. Here, the top two teams in each group will have access to the Super-12.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here