Why are there 16 seats at the G-Seven table?

Why are there 16 seats at the summit table of G7, the richest organization in the world?

The Group of Seven (G7) summit is attended by more countries than its name. The Japanese prime minister is hosting this year’s gathering of rich democracies. He has expanded the event’s guest list as he seeks to develop relations with middle-power countries and peoples of the Global South.

How many countries are represented in the meeting?

The G7 currently consists of the United States, Canada, Japan, the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and Italy, plus the European Union "”Non-enumerated Members”, but the forum has invited non-member countries to participate for many years. Like India, Poland and Spain.


This year, leaders and representatives of 16 countries are attending the three-day EU summit. Apart from this, Ukrainian President Zelensky has also met with the leaders of the countries participating in the summit.

In addition to G7 members and the European Union, leaders from India, Brazil, Indonesia, Vietnam, Australia, South Korea and the Comoros and Cook Islands are attending. The African Union and the Pacific Islands are representing the forum.
Why does the G7 want to expand relations with developing countries?

While the G7 has sought to promote a united front in efforts to pressure Russia to end its war in Ukraine, the majority of the international community has refused to take sides in the conflict.


In addition to Japan, Western leadership has been campaigning for sanctions against Russia.

Russia’s trade with G7 countries has declined, with China, India and Turkey picking up much of the slack through increased imports of Russian coal, oil and gas. Russia’s economy is set to contract by just 2.2 percent in 2022, much less than expected.

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here