Who will replace Shreyas Iyer as the new KKR captain? These 3-star players are ahead of the race.

Image source: IPLT20.COM
Shreyas Iyer

Shreyas Iyer KKR Team Captain: Kolkata Knight Riders team will play their first match in IPL 2023 on behalf of Punjab Kings on April 1, but KKR team captain and explosive batsman Shreyas Iyer is injured and may need to undergo surgery. For this reason, he may be left out of IPL 2023. In such a situation, 3 players are great candidates to take over the KKR captaincy instead. Let’s get to know about these players.

1.Tim Southee

Kolkata Knight Riders have a great player in Tim Southee who specializes in killer bowling. Saudi Arabia has captained New Zealand in all three formats. He has captained New Zealand in 6 Tests, 1 ODI and 22 T20 matches. He has captaincy experience and can vary the bowling very well. He so far he has taken 45 wickets in 52 IPL matches.

2. Andre Russell

West Indian star Andre Russell has been with the Kolkata Knight Riders team since 2014. Along with an excellent game of bowling, he specializes in fast batting landing in the lower order. He till now he has scored 2035 runs in 98 IPL matches. At the same time, he has taken 89 wickets with the ball. He is a strong contender to become captain in Shreyas Iyer’s absence.

3. Nitish Frog

Nitish Rana has won many matches for Kolkata Knight Riders on his own. He is an important link in the KKR team’s batting order. He has scored 2181 runs in 91 matches for the KKR team. His best score is 87 runs. When he’s on the beat of it, he can smash any bowling attack. In IPL 2022, he scored 361 runs in 14 matches for the KKR team.

KKR team captains in IPL so far:

Sourav Ganguly – 27 matches

Brendon McCullum – 13 games
Gautam Gambhir – 122 matches
Jacques Kallis – 2 games
Dinesh Karthik – 37 matches
Eoin Morgan – 24 matches
Shreyas Iyer – 14 matches

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here