When India-Pakistan met for the first time in T20I, the India team won the match 3-0

At T20 World Cup 2007...- India TV Hindi News
Image Source: TWITTER
Photos after the Indo-Pak league match at the 2007 T20 World Cup


  • The first T20I match was held between India and Pakistan at the 2007 T20 World Cup.
  • India and Pakistan have gone head to head in this format 9 times in 15 years
  • On August 28, there will be a clash between the two at the 2022 Asia Cup for the tenth time.

IND vs. PAK: The teams from India and Pakistan will meet in the 2022 Asia Cup on August 28. This 15th edition of the Asian Cup is played in the United Arab Emirates. This tournament is organized in T20 format for the second time after 2016. In 2016, India beat Pakistan by 5 wickets. Apart from this, so far both teams have met 9 times in the shortest international format of cricket. At the same time, both teams have met 14 times in the Asian Cup. In both cases, the Indian team has a huge advantage over Pakistan.

The first T20 International between India and Pakistan took place at the 2007 T20 World Cup. This was the first T20 World Cup and the Indian team became world champions under the leadership of MS Dhoni. In this World Cup, India and Pakistan met in the final for the second time after the league game. In both matches, India defeated Pakistan. For the first time in the same tournament, both teams had met in the league phase in this format. Since then, both teams have met 9 times in 15 years.

India won the first match 3-0

Every cricket fan was very curious when India and Pakistan met for the first time in the T20 format. Why wouldn’t it be the first time that two arch-rivals met face to face in the shorter format. Although the excitement always reaches its peak before the match between these two teams, that day there was a different curiosity. Everyone expected a thorn in the side and something similar happened. The match ended in a draw and then a rule emerged that had probably never been seen in cricket before. That rule was the ballout, in which the Indian team won 3-0.

Read Also:  Automating Reporting And Analytics Processes

The trio of Uthappa, Bhajji and Sehwag beat Pakistan

In this match played on 14 September 2007 at Kingsmead, Durban, Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik won the toss and decided to throw first. Fast pitcher Mohammad Asif wreaked havoc and sent four batters to the pavilion for just 8 runs. The team led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni was able to score 141 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 20 overs. Robin Uthappa scored fifty. Apart from this, MS Dhoni had scored more than 33 runs on 31 balls. In addition to Mohammad Asif, Shahid Afridi also took two pieces of land in his name.

Now it was the turn of the bowlers and the bowlers also spread their fire and the Pakistan team also made 141 runs and the match was tied. Then came the turn of the ball out in which the bowlers had to hit the ball on the stump. Both teams had to pick five players to hit the stumps. Dhoni chose Virender Sehwag, Robin Uthappa, Harbhajan Singh, S Sreesanth, and Irfan Pathan. Shoaib Malik chose Umar Gul, Yasir Arafat, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanveer and Mohammad Asif. For India, Sehwag, Bhajji and Uthappa hit the mark in their respective attempts. On the other hand, Arafat, Gul and Afridi failed in their respective attempts from the Pakistan side. India thus won the match 3-0.

How is the T20I record between the two teams?

A total of 9 T20 internationals have been played between India and Pakistan so far. Of which India has won on 7 occasions while Pakistan has been able to win only twice. The last time both teams met was in Dubai at the 2021 T20 World Cup on October 24, 2021 when Pakistan defeated India by 10 wickets. Now in the 2022 Asia Cup, Team India will go to the same Dubai ground, where they had to face a humiliating defeat 10 months ago, to settle the account of the previous defeat.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here