What is the referee’s call, why does England captain Ben Stokes cite it as the reason for the defeat?

After the Rajkot Test, discussion over the umpire’s decision has increased. While England captain Ben Stokes did not directly address the umpire’s decision, his statements clearly showed that he was upset with the umpire’s decisions in the Rajkot Test. Above all, he and his entire team were unhappy with the way Jack Crowley was given out in the second inning. Stokes’ disappointment was clearly visible after the game.

The referee’s call can be considered part of DRS. If the batting or bowling team is unhappy with the on-field umpire’s decision, a review against the decision will be conducted. In such a situation, it often happens that the player in the review is in the middle position, that is, he can be both challenged and unchallenged. In such a situation, the referee’s initial decision plays an important role. This means that if the on-field umpire makes the decision “Out”, the batsman is “Out” and if he makes the decision “Not Out”, the batsman remains “Not Out”.

If we understand the example of LBW, the third referee when reviewing a team tries to achieve the result through replays and ball tracking. If the ball touches the wicket during review and the on-field umpire has already cleared the batsman to be out, the batsman is deemed to be out. However, if the on-field umpire has made the decision not to be out, the batsman will not be considered out in the review just because the ball hits the wicket. In such a situation, more than 50 percent of the ball should hit the wicket, only then the batsman is considered out. There is a debate about the referee’s call on this matter.

Stokes’ post-match statements showed that a consistent process should be followed at DRS, even if the referee’s decision has to be reversed on the pitch. This means that he apparently went against the referee’s request. Stokes and coach McCullum even spoke to the umpire about it at length after the Rajkot Test.

In fact, Bumrah’s ball hit Crowley’s pad in the second innings of the game. Following Bumrah’s appeal, referee Kumar Dharmasena declared Crowley ruled out. Crowley made a review and Hawk Eye saw the ball fall offside outside the pitching zone, but the impact was seen on the line. The ball could be seen hitting very close to the leg stump. Had the on-field referee made the decision not to throw out, Crowley would not have been ruled out, but because the referee had already declared it out, Crowley had to return to the pavilion. In this regard, Stokes and company were seen protesting against the referee’s call.

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version