Home World What is the new order of succession for the British crown?

What is the new order of succession for the British crown?

Charles III will be crowned king on Saturday May 6, 2023, at the age of 74. In fact, he became monarch on September 8, 2022, the day his mother, Queen Elizabeth II died. On this occasion, the order of succession to the throne completely changed. Here are now those who are most likely to reach the throne.

The rules of succession to the British Crown were reformed in 2011, recalls The cross. From now on, the throne goes to the eldest child of the sovereign, whether he is a man or a woman, then to his descendants. Without a direct descendant, the throne goes to the brothers or sisters of the sovereign in order of birth. The order excludes Catholics but includes people married to a Catholic spouse and their descendants.

A long list of succession

Given these rules, the heir to the crown today is William, Prince of Wales and eldest son of Charles III. Then come his children George, then Charlotte and Louis. Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex and brother of William, comes fifth, followed by his children Archie and Lilibet, although the latter was born in the United States where the prince now lives with his family.

Beyond the children of Charles and their descendants, the order of succession then goes back to the brothers and sisters of the monarch. Anne, Princess Royal and second child of Elizabeth II, thus arrives 16th in the list, behind her brothers Andrew and Edward. Once the line of the queen is exhausted, the succession passes to the descendants of Margaret, sister of Elizabeth II.

No Comments

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version