Vuelta a España 2023 today, stage 17: profile and route

One of the scheduled days of La Vuelta 2023 and a result that will certainly make a difference. Even more so after what we have experienced Bejes, with Vingegaard Getting started fully in battle from General and the leadership of Kuss, with low income. It is a colossus of world cycling: the Angliru. It first appeared in cycling in 1999 and since then Angliru has become an iconic peak. This international showcase, with “Chava” Jiménez as the first winnerr, promoted a climb that pushes cyclists to the limits of their capabilities due to both the wild incline and the extreme hardness of the ramps. The port consists of sections with their own identity. Les Cabanes, Llagos Los Picones, Cobayos, La Cueña les Cabres and El Aviru You tackle the climb, a total of 12.4 km with an average gradient of 9.8%.

It’s an effort more than 40 minutes…for those who finish in first place. For many runners it is the day marked in red, Because over just a few kilometers, the difference between runners can be minutes. It is the ninth time that La Vuelta has crowned this summit. The previous one took place in 2020, in a completely different situation than the previous ones. It happened in the year of the pandemic, with no fans in the trenches and a shocking image of runners ascending alone while an audience is absent due to health advice.

The eight previous climbs left seven different winners. That means, one of them repeated: Alberto Contador (2008 and 2017), who also achieved his last victory as a professional here. The already mentioned José María Jiménez (1999), Gilberto Simoni (2000). Roberto Heras (2002), Juanjo Cobo (2011 and later disqualified for doping), Kenny Elissonde (2013) and Hugh Carthy (2020, the winners). The last two are included in this edition. In total it is 124km, with the Alto de la Colladiella and the Cordal both in the first category, which will make the race tougher before reaching the base of Angliru on a day where rain is possible again.

General ranking

Sepp kiss

TJV 57h:18:10

Jonas Vingegaard

TJV +00:29

Primoz Roglic

TJV +01:33

Juan Ayuso

UAD +02:33

Enric Mas

MOV +03:02

Marc Soler

UAD +03:28

Mikel Landa

TBV +04:12

Alexander Vlasov

BOH +04:58

Cian Uijtdebroeks

BOH +05:38

Joao Almeida

UAD +08:43

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here