Volta a Catalunya 2023: stages, profiles, route, teams, participants and favorites

A shower of stars. The 102nd edition of the Volta a Catalunya, always attractive, presents one of the best posters in its history. In the round, which will take place from Monday (March 20) to Sunday (26)the current world champion, Remco Evenepoel, Primoz Roglic or Egan Bernal will be present. Big names for a great tour, which will include three mountain stagessomething that has not been seen since 2001. Here are all the details about the race.

Stages, profiles and route

The Volta a Catalunya is made up of seven stages. Sant Feliu de Guíxols will host the first departure and Barcelona, ​​the last arrival. The second day will bring the first arrival high of a route marked by the great presence of mountains.

Stage 1: Sant Feliu de Guíxols – Sant Feliu de Guíxols

Sant Feliu de Guíxols It will be for the second year the starting point of the Volta. The city of the Costa Brava will be the start and finish of a first stage of 164.6 kilometers that can bring surprises, with up to four scoring ports (the Alto de Àngels, in the 2nd category, is added) and an explosive finish that in the last two visits to the race (2019 and 2022) has seen the Australian Michael Matthews win.

Stage 2: Mataró – Vallter

The high mountains will arrive in the Volta 2023, with a first arrival in height in the second stage, which will link Mataró and Vallter on a 165.4-kilometre route. The Coll de Coubet, of 1st category, will add demand before the arrival at the top in the ski resort, A whole special category port that has hosted a goal of the Catalan race six times.

Stage 3: Olost – La Molina

The second mountain stage will not wait and will be on the third day, which will have 180.6 kilometers between Olost, an unprecedented start in the centenary history of the race, and La Molina, a modern classic of the last decade where he has won four final winners of the Volta. Previous uploads in the Coll de Coubet (1st category) and the Coll de la Creueta (one of three special category ports on this year’s tour) will help make the selection.

Stage 4: Llivia – Sabadell

The fourth stage will cover 188.2 kilometers between Llívia and Sabadell in the longest day of this editionone of the most favorable to a sprint arrival, despite the fact that the starting ascent in La Molina (1st category) and the ascents to the Collet de Sant Agustí and the Coll de Lligabosses (3rd category) they will add even more wear and tear on the legs of the Volta peloton.

Stage 5: Terres de l’Ebre (Tortosa – Lo Port) – Terres de l’Ebre (Tortosa – Lo Port)

If something makes the route of this 102nd edition of the Volta a Catalunya exceptional, it will be the fifth stage, a day of 176.6 kilometers that will show the cycling potential of the four regions of Terres de l’Ebredeparting from Tortosa and a monumental arrival at Lo Puerto, only seen in the 1985, 1991 and 2017 editions. It will be the third arrival in height of the edition, in a special category port with the necessary hardness to be decisive in the final resolution of the race.

Stage 6: Martorell – Molins de Rei

The sixth stage will join Martorell and Molins de Rei, two towns in Baix Llobregat that return to the Volta route after decades of absence in a journey of 183.2 kilometers that will take cyclists through leg-breaking terrain through the center of Catalonia, reaching the territory of Lleida. In the final part, the ascents to Alt de la Creu d’Aragall (2nd category) and Alt de Fontpineda (3rd category) they can bring surprises.

Stage 7: Barcelona – Barcelona

Finally, Barcelona will once again be the judge of the Volta a Catalunya in its seventh stagewith departure and arrival in the capital of Catalonia on a 135.8-kilometre route that this year includes the Alt de Begues (2nd category) before returning to the final circuit in Montjuicwhich always offers a competitive show with a special public to close a week of emotions.

Participants and favorites of the Volta a Catalunya

The list of participants of the Volta a Catalunya shines with its own light. Jai Hindley (Bora) will wear race number 1. It will be one of the important names in the midst of a shower of stars. Among the great favorites to conquer the general are Remco Evenepoel (Quick-Step), Primoz Roglic (Jumbo) and Richard Carapaz (EF). Along with them, Joao Almeida and Adam Yates (UAE), Romain Bardet (DSM), Ben O’Connor (Ag2r), Geraint Thomas (Ineos) and Dylan Teuns (Israel). The Spanish peloton, for its part, will be led by another of the opponents of the general classification, Mikel Landa (Bahrain), Jesús Herrada (Cofidis), Marc Soler (UAE), Carlos Verona (Movistar) or Juanpe López (Trek)which will make its debut in the 2023 season.

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here