Vollering wins after Wiebes’ disqualification

The Team SD Worx rider, Demi Vollering, has been proclaimed the winner of the second stage of the Vuelta a Burgos after the judges disqualified the Burgos round leader, Lorena Wiebes, for interposing her elbow against Chloé Dygert causing a sprint irregular. With this decision, Weibes continues to be the leader of the Vuelta a Burgos but loses two places in the general classification of the stage, being third in it and second place goes to Dygert. The leader of the Burgos round keeps the purple jersey for one more day, demonstrating the high level he is at right now, fighting against very strong rivals at the finish line.

As soon as the race began in the town of Sotragero, a group of 24 runners formed before entering Villadiego, among which was the leader Lorena Weibes and some of the strongest runners such as Demi Vollering (SD Worx), several runners from Movistar and the UAE Team as well as the mountain jersey, Soraya Paladín. The Italian wanted to make sure she continued leading the classification of the mountain passes, and she passed in the first of the ports, Alto de la Herradura, in first place followed by Wiebes, Zanardi (Be Pink) and Biannic (Movistar). Behind, another group of runners formed that tried to follow in the wake of this leading group that each time made the distance longer, reaching a time of 1:45.

In the second mountain pass, the Alto del Coto Gallo, also in the third category, Paladín certified that she was wearing the red jersey for at least the two remaining stages. The pace was very high, 48 kilometers per hour, which made us anticipate an arrival in Lerma sooner than usual and that was leaving behind some runners, like the Arandina Sara Martín, Aude Biannic and Mireia Benito and later the other two representatives of Movistar.

Read Also:  Can Shakur Stevenson Dethrone Gervonta Davis: The Opportunity to Become Boxing's Next Champion

The peloton was not organized at all, quite the opposite of the leading group, however, little by little they were picking up the riders who had been left behind. Entering the Villa Ducal, the group was made up of 13 runners who, in the last 500 meters, with a narrow and cobbled climb, formed two groups in which only the 3 runners who competed for the final podium remained in the first. Tomorrow’s stage, “Ribera del Duero”, will start from the town of Caleruega and, after traveling 112 kilometres, will reach the capital of Ribera, Aranda de Duero.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here