Van der Poel destroys Van Aert again in Baal

The beginning of a new year usually heralds changes, different trends, goals… But not like that in the world Cyclocross that continues under the tyranny of Mathieu van der Poel. New year, same pattern: a landslide victory. And there are already eight on his personal account, as many participations in the current season, the last one X2O by Baal, in which he also shared the bill with Wout van Aert and Tom Pidcock.

And we say poster, because as the weather is on the muddy Dutch circuit, they didn’t share much… On the second lap, repeating their strategy from the last few weeks, the brand new rainbow jersey hit the punch and no one could see him anymore, not even from a distance. The results speak for themselves: Van Aert was the only one who was able to cross the finish line less than two minutes behind “MVP”. An undeniable beating. The podium concluded with a fantastic result Pim Ronhaar, who continues to win integers to defeat Eli Iserbyt (absent this Monday) in the overall World Cup.

Aside from Van der Poel’s galactic superiority, there were things worth highlighting. Such as the introduction of Felipe Orts with the colors of his own team, the FORTS team, an entrepreneurial bet that took effect today following the conclusion of his contract with Burgos-BH. Another day, Villajoyosa ended like this best Spanish, in 11th place. Just ahead of a Pidcock that got tangled again at the start and that the results were diluted as the minutes passed, despite being in the top four.

As I said, the race had little history. In the early stages the leading group disintegrated thanks to the dynamism of Van Aert, whose form improved as the days went on. Van der Poel and Ronhaar followed them until tensions arose on the second lap. In the middle of the mud, where Van Aert was obviously suffering, the The Belgian and the Dutchman touched each other slightly in search of the best route. Race throw. Shortly afterwards, Van der Poel did his thing while, a world away, Van Aert and Ronhaar swapped positions. The jumbo driver ended up winning this duel easily, but finished a whopping 1:55 behind Van der Poel. Will the Belgian remove his thorn on January 4th? Koksijde?

X2O Trofee Baal

1. Mathieu van der Poel (PBa) – 57:22

2. Wout van Aert (Bél) – at 1:55

3. Pim Ronhaar (PBa) – 2:44

11 Felipe Orts – 4:58

12. Tom Pidcock (GBr) – 5:24

Follow that Diario AS channel on WhatsAppwhere you can find all the sports keys of the day.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here