Urán, Buitrago… Colombia’s roster for the Cycling World Cup

Next Thursday, August 3, in Glasgow, Scotland, the Cycling World Championships will begin. With only one week left for the start, Colombia defined the list of athletes who will represent the country in 9 of the 13 disciplines of the contest, which will last until Sunday the 13th of that month.

In total, 63 Colombians will travel to compete in “Road, Track, BMX Racing, BMX Freestyle, Mountain Bike in the modalities of Cross Country, Marathon and Downhill, and Paracycling on track and road”. This was announced by the Colombian Cycling Federation in a statement.

Urán, Tejada, Buitrago and Gaviria lead the road team

Of the 63 country representatives, 21 of them will compete in the different categories of road cycling. The time trial will take place on August 5 and 6; while the background test will be from the 8th to the 13th of the same month.

In the Colombian roster, the presence of great cyclists who come from participating in the most important races on the international calendar stands out. It should be remembered that Miguel Ángel ‘Superman’ López will not be able to participate due to the provisional suspension that the International Cycling Union imposed on him for possible use and possession of a prohibited substance in the weeks prior to the Giro d’Italia 2022.

Santiago Buitrago, winner of the queen stage of the last Giro, will be in the elite test together with Rigoberto Urán and Harold Tejada, who come from the Tour de France; and Fernando Gaviria, from the Movistar Team. Álvaro Hodeg and Juan Sebastián Molano will also run, among others.

In the women’s elite competition will be Diana Carolina Peñuela, Andrea Alzate and Paula Patiño. On the other hand, Mariana Pajón, triple-Olympic medalist, will lead the BMX Racing roster, which will also feature Carlos Alberto Ramírez, winner of the bronze medal in the Olympic Games. Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020.

Colombia’s roster for the 2023 Cycling World Cups


– Elite
Rigoberto Urán Urán (EF Education-EasyPost)
Harold Tejada Canacue (Astana – Qazaqstan)
Santiago Buitrago Sanchez (Team Bahrain Victorius)
Fernando Gaviria Rendon (Movistar Team)
Álvaro José Hodeg Chagüi (UAE Team Emirates)
Juan Sebastian Molano Benavides (UAE Team Emirates)
Jesus David Peña Jimenez (Team Jayco AlUla)
Walter Alejandro Vargas Alzate (Team Medellín) (CRI and Route)
Diana Carolina Peñuela Martínez (DNA Pro Cycling) (CRI and Route)
Paula Andrea Patino Bedoya (Movistar Team)
Andrea Alzate Gómez (Einecat – CM Team Sports Insurance)

– Under-23
Germán Darío Gómez Becerra (GW Shimano Sidermec) (CRI and Route)
Anderson Arboleda Ruiz (EPM) (CRI and Route)
Abner Santiago Umba Lopez (GW Shimano Sidermec)
Jonathan Alexander Guatibonza Becerra (GW Shimano Sidermec)
Diego Fernando Pescador Castro (GW Shimano Sidermec)

– Junior
Robinson Rincón Quijano (Colombia Talent Mindeporte – Strongman Bicycles) (CRI and Route)
Juan David Urián Caro (Team Boyacá Avanza)
Angie Mariana Londoño Posada (Avinal Carmen del Viboral) (CRI and Route)
Juliana Londoño David (Probike) (CRI and Route)
Lesly Yulieth Aguirre Malagón (Team Boyacá Avanza)


Martha Bayona Pineda (Speed)
Kevin Santiago Quintero Chavarro (Speed)
Santiago Ramirez Morales (Speed)
Cristian David Ortega Fontalvo (Speed)
Carlos Daniel Echeverri Cardona (Speed)
Juan Esteban Arango Carvajal (Background)

bmx racing

– Elite
Mariana Pajon Londono
Gabriela Bolle Carrillo
Diego Alejandro Arboleda Ospina
Carlos Alberto Ramirez Yepes
Matthew Carmona Garcia
Juan Camilo Ramirez Valencia

– Under-23
Manuela Martinez Agudelo
santiago santa moreno
Jersey Alejandro Andrade Gustin

– Junior
Sharid Nicolle Fayad Mercado
Mariana Agudelo Medina
Juan Jose Velasquez Carmona

freestyle bmx

Queen Saray Villegas Serna (Park)
Luis Oswaldo Rincon Reyes (Park)

mountain biking

– Marathon (XCM)
Hector Leonardo Paez Leon
Diego Alfonso Arias Cuervo
Monica Yuliana Calderon Martinez

-Downhill (DHI)
Sebastian Holguin Villa (Elite)
Valentina Roa Sanchez (Junior)

– Olympic Cross Country (XCO)

Jhonnatan Botero Villegas
Ana Maria Roa Munoz

Nelson Duvan Pena Franco
Maria Jose Salamanca Pinzon
Laura Camila Cagua Gonzalez

Antonio Gomez Ortiz
Salome Cortés Bautista


Daniela Carolina Munevar Flórez (C2)
Paula Andrea Ossa Veloza (C5)
Juan Jose Betancourt Quiroga (T2)
Alejandro Perea Arango (C3)
Esneider Muñoz Marín (C3)
Guido Fernando Cardona Maya (C4)
Diego German Duenas Gomez (C4)
Carlos Andres Vargas Villanueva (C5)
Nelson Javier Serna Moreno (B)
Marvin Orlando Angarita Reyes (Guide)

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here