This is the list of winners of the Giro d’Italia: who has won the Maglia Rosa the most times

the slovenian Primoz Roglic has inscribed his name in the history of Italy spin. The 33-year-old rider was proclaimed champion of the Corsa Rosa this Sunday, the first time in his career that he has achieved it, and he already has four grand tours. He thus enters a very select circle of winners, with the best cyclists in history.

Who has won the Giro d’Italia the most times?

The Italians Alfredo Binda and Fausto Coppi and the Belgian Eddy Merckx They are the cyclists who have won the Giro d’Italia the most times, since they won the general of the race in 5 occasions.

After Binda, Coppi and Merckx, the names of other illustrious cycling figures such as Giovanni Brunero, Gino Bartali, Fiorenzo Magni, Felice Gimondi and Bernard Hinault, who managed to win the Italian round 3 times.

Other great cycling figures such as Carlo Galetti, Costante Girardengo, Giovanni Valetti, Charly , Franco Balmamion, Jacques Anquetil, Giuseppe Saronni, Miguel Indurain, Ivan Gotti, Gilberto Simoni, Paolo Savoldelli, Ivan Basso, Alberto Contador and Vincenzo Nibali They can also boast in their record of having won the Giro d’Italia on at least two occasions.

Giro d’Italia winners

2023: Primoz Roglic (Slovenia)
2022: Jai Hindley (Australia)
2021: Egan Bernal (Colombia)
2020: Tao Geoghegan Hart (UK)
2019: Richard Carapaz (Ecuador)
2018: Chris Froome (UK)
2017: Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands)
2016: Vincenzo Nibali (Italy)
2015: Alberto Contador (Spain)
2014: Nairo Quintana (Colombia)
2013: Vincenzo Nibali (Italy)
2012: Ryder Hesjedal (Canada)
2011: Michele Scarponi (Italy)
2010: Ivan Basso (Italy)
2009: Denis Menchov (Russia)
2008: Alberto Contador (Spain)
2007: Danilo Di Luca (Italy)
2006: Ivan Basso (Italy)
2005: Paolo Savoldelli (Italy)
2004: Damiano Cunego (Italy)
2003: Gilberto Simoni (Italy)
2002: Paolo Savoldelli (Italy)
2001: Gilberto Simoni (Italy)
2000: Stefano Garzelli (Italy)
1999: Ivan Gotti (Italy)
1998: Marco Pantani (Italy)
1997: Ivan Gotti (Italy)
1996: Pavel Tonkov (Russia)
1995: Tony Rominger (Switzerland)
1994: Evgeny Berzin (Russia)
1993: Miguel Indurain (Spain)
1992: Miguel Indurain (Spain)
1991: Franco Chioccioli (Italy)
1990: Gianni Bugno (Italy)
1989: Laurent Fignon (France)
1988: Andrew Hampstein (United States)
1987: Stephan Roche (Ireland)
1986: Roberto Visentini (Italy)
1985: Bernard Hinault (France)
1984: Francesco Moser (Italy)
1983: Giuseppe Saronni (Italy)
1982: Bernard Hinault (France)
1981: Giovanni Battaglin (Italy)
1980: Bernard Hinault (France)
1979: Giuseppe Saronni (Italy)
1978: Johan de Muynck (Belgium)
1977: Michel Pollentier (Belgium)
1976: Felice Gimondi (Italy)
1975: Fausto Bertoglio (Italy)
1974: Eddy Merckx (Belgium)
1973: Eddy Merckx (Belgium)
1972: Eddy Merckx (Belgium)
1971: Gösta Pettersson (Sweden)
1970: Eddy Merckx (Belgium)
1969: Felice Gimondi (Italy)
1968: Eddy Merckx (Belgium)
1967: Felice Gimondi (Italy)
1966: Gianni Motta (Italy)
1965: Vittorio Adorni (Italy)
1964: Jacques Anquetil (France)
1963: Franco Balmamion (Italy)
1962: Franco Balmamion (Italy)
1961: Arnaldo Pambianco (Italy)
1960: Jacques Anquetil (France)
1959: Charly Gaul (Luxembourg)
1958: Ercole Baldini (Italy)
1957: Gastone Nencini (Italy)
1956: Charly Gaul (Luxembourg)
1955: Fiorenzo Magni (Italy)
1954: Carlo Clerici (Switzerland)
1953: Fausto Coppi (Italy)
1952: Fausto Coppi (Italy)
1951: Fiorenzo Magni (Italy)
1950: Hugo Koblet (Switzerland)
1949: Fausto Coppi (Italy)
1948: Fiorenzo Magni (Italy)
1947: Fausto Coppi (Italy)
1946: Gino Bartali (Italy)
*Between 1941 and 1945 it was not played because of the Second World War
1940: Fausto Coppi (Italy)
1939: Giovanni Valetti (Italy)
1938: Giovanni Valetti (Italy)
1937: Gino Bartali (Italy)
1936: Gino Bartali (Italy)
1935: Vasco Bergamaschi (Italy)
1934: Learco Guerra (Italy)
1933: Alfredo Binda (Italy)
1932: Antonio Pesenti (Italy)
1931: Francesco Camusso (Italy)
1930: Luigi Marchisio (Italy)
1929: Alfredo Binda (Italy)
1928: Alfredo Binda (Italy)
1927: Alfredo Binda (Italy)
1926: Giovanni Brunero (Italy)
1925: Alfredo Binda (Italy)
1924: Giuseppe Enrici (Italy)
1923: Costante Girardengo (Italy)
1922: Giovanni Brunero (Italy)
1921: Giovanni Brunero (Italy)
1920: Gaetano Belloni (Italy)
1919: Costante Girardengo (Italy)
*Between 1915 and 1918 it was not played because of the First World War
1914: Alfonso Calzolari (Italy)
1913: Carlo Oriani (Italy)
1912: Team Atala (Italy)
1911: Carlo Galetti (Italy)
1910: Carlo Galetti (Italy)
1909: Luigi Ganna (Italy)

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here