These seven Australian cities have hosted T20 World Cup matches

Image source: GETTY
Aerial view of Melbourne Cricket Ground

Seven Australian cities, including Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide, will host the ICC Men’s World Cup T20 from October 16 to November 13 next year. The other two cities where the tournament matches will take place are Geelong and Hobart. Of these, however, there is the possibility of first-round matches.

The final will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). According to a statement from the International Cricket Council (ICC), “The tournament to be held from October 16 to November 13 next year will have 45 matches hosted by Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney.”

Read also- IND vs NZ: Kane Williamson out of the T20 series against India, Tim Southee will lead New Zealand in the first match

The semi-finals will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground and the Adelaide Oval on November 9 and 10 respectively. Countries that have qualified directly for the Super 12 stage include defending champions Australia and runners-up New Zealand. Apart from them, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan and South Africa have also made it directly to the Super 12.

Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka and the West Indies, two-time champions, will play the first leg. The other four teams in the first leg will be decided by two qualifying tournaments. The first of these tournaments will be played in Oman in February, while the second will be played in Zimbabwe in June-July.

Read also – Pre Quarter Final SMAT 2021: Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Pre Quarter Final

Read Also:  Alcaraz-Draper: Queen's Tournament Schedule and Where to Watch

“We are excited about the return of ICC events in Australia and are pleased to announce the seven host cities of the 2022 Men’s T20 World Cup,” said event director Chris Tetley.


Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here