These 3 Indian captains have won the ICC trophy, apart from Kapil-Dhoni, do you know who is the third Indian captain?

ms dhoni and kapil dev

India Cricket Team: Cricket is considered a religion in India. India has given more than one cricketer to the world. India won the ODI World Cup title in 1983 under the captaincy of Kapil Dev. Following this, the India team won the 2011 ODI World Cup, 2007 T20 World Cup and the 2013 Champions Trophy under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. But apart from Kapil-Dhoni, there is another Indian captain who won the ICC trophy for India. Let’s find out about that captain.

There was a match between India and Sri Lanka

The final match of the 2002 Champions Trophy was played between India and Sri Lanka on 29 September. Then the Sri Lankan captain was Sanath Jayasuriya and Sourav Ganguly was leading the Indian team. Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first. The Sri Lankan batsmen showed a great game. Jayasuriya scored 74 runs, Marvan Atapattu scored 34 runs, Kumar Sangakkara scored 54 runs. On the strength of these batsmen, Sri Lanka scored 244 runs with the loss of the first 5 wickets.

Harbhajan Singh took the top 3 wickets for India. Apart from this, Ajit Agarkar and Sachin Tendulkar took 1-1 wickets. When the Indian players came out to bat. Only two overs were possible. Then the rain came. After this the game could not be played and the game was played again on the day of the reservation (September 30, 2002).

Both teams became joint winners.

Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat on the reserve day. This time the Sri Lankan team, batting first, scored 222 runs at the loss of 7 wickets. Mahela Jayawardene was the top scorer for Sri Lanka with 77 runs. But only 8.4 Indian batting overs were possible. For India, Virender Sehwag was in the crease scoring 25 runs and Sachin Tendulkar 7 runs. Then the rain came and the game could not start. For this reason, Sri Lanka and India were declared joint winners. In this way, India won the 2002 Champions Trophy under the captaincy of Sourav Ganguly.

Read Also:  Indian Cricketers' Central Contracts: Benefits to CSK Players

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here