Home Sports The Ocean Race, ready to go around the world

The Ocean Race, ready to go around the world

The Ocean Race, ready to go around the world

The 14th edition of The Ocean Race It will be a reality this Sunday. It will set sail from Alicante and, after traveling the world, it will finish in Genoa (Italy) at the beginning of the summer of 2023. The regatta will visit nine emblematic cities around the world over a period of six months (Alicante, Spain – Cape Verde – Cape Town, South Africa – Itajaí, Brazil – Newport, RI, USA – Aarhus, Denmark – Fly-By Kiel, Germany – The Hague, Netherlands – Genoa, Italy ) Y will feature the longest leg in the event’s 50-year history: a 12,750 nautical mile, month-long marathon from Cape Town, South Africa, to Itajaí, Brazil. The fleet of mixed crews will pass through the three great southern capes: Cape of Good Hope, Cape Leeuwin and Cape Horn, without making a stopover, for the first time in history.

The Ocean Race is one of the great events in the world of sailing. It has been held since 1973 and the last edition of the regatta, 2017-18, was the most even in its history with three teams virtually tied when approaching the finish line. After 126 days of competition spread over 11 stages, the final lead for Charles Caudrelier’s Dongfeng Race Team was only 16 minutes. The first three teams, including the Spanish MAPFRE, ended up separated by only four points.

All the teams registered in this edition of The Ocean Race had to make a minimum investment of 5,000 euros, which was the ‘registration’ fee and that it gave them access to materials and information relevant to the regatta. At the starting line this Sunday in Alicante there will be five IMOCA teams with foils (the boats are priced at six million euros) that will go around the world and six VO65 one-designs, which will participate in just three stages (Alicante-Cape Verde; Aarhus-The Hague; and The Hague-Genoa) with the aim of lifting The Ocean Race VO65 Sprint Cup trophy.



The IMOCAs will visit nine cities in seven stages and this Sunday, which comes out from Alicante and going to Cape Verde, it will be a sprint of 1,900 nautical miles (3,518 kilometers). It will be the first time the race has stopped in the African archipelago, as the fleet has historically sailed close to the islands on its way south across the Atlantic. The six VO65 will participate in this first stage and once it is over they will disappear. The wind forecast for this Sunday is from the southwest of eight to 12 knots for the departure of the VO65, which will become northwest for the IMOCA fleet. After the start, and as both fleets head towards the Strait of Gibraltar, the wind is expected to rise to 30-35 knots in the Alboran Sea on Monday, so the boats will put themselves to the test with harsh conditions from the start.

Stage 2, with IMOCA only, will start on the 25th of this month and the fleet will cross the equator and head south to reach Cape Town, the twelfth time the regatta has stopped at the southern tip of Africa, making it the most visited port of call. This will also be the first of the three stops where the boats will be taken out of the water for maintenance. The next, Stage 3 will be a record stage, the longest in the event’s 50-year history because it will be a one-month marathon and 12,750 nautical miles to Itajaí (Brazil). Following the tradition of The Ocean Race, here the sailors will be taken to the areas known as the Roaring Forties and the Howling Fifties of the Southern Ocean. They will leave Antarctica on their right and will pass through the three great southern capes (Buena Esperanza, Leeuwin and de Hornos). to port, without stopping at any of them, for the first time in history. At the end there will be another stop with maintenance in Itajaí before resuming the competition to the north, through the doldrums (zone of equatorial calms), the equator and to Newport, Rhode Island, on the east coast of the United States. From there, there will be a transatlantic leg to Aarhus (Denmark). In this way, the regatta will return to Europe and it will be then when the IMOCA and VO65 will meet again. Already in Denmark will give way to the last two stages. Route 6, from Aarhus, with a fly-by point in Kiel (Germany), to The Hague (Netherlands) and Route 7 will be heading to Genoa (Italy), host city of the Grand Final in June 2023.


Route of The Ocean Race:

-Stage 1: Alicante to Cape Verde, stage start this Sunday, 1,900 nautical miles.

-Stage 2: Cape Verde to Cape Town (South Africa), start of the stage on January 25, 4,600 nautical miles.

-Stage 3: Cape Town to Itajaí (Brazil), start of the stage on February 26, 12,750 nautical miles.

-Stage 4: Itajaí to Newport (Rhode Island), start of the stage on April 23, 5,500 nautical miles.

-Stage 5: Newport to Aarhus (Denmark), start of the stage on May 21, 3,500 nautical miles.

-Stage 6: Aarhus to The Hague (Netherlands), start of the stage on June 8, 800 nautical miles.

-Stage 7: The Hague to Genoa (Italy), start of the stage on June 15, 2,200 nautical miles.

How is the winner of The Ocean Race decided?

In this edition of The Ocean Race, 36,825 miles (60,000 kilometers) will be sailed around the world and a points scoring system is used to determine the winner, in which the winning team of a stage at sea obtains points equal to the number of participants in the regatta. The second classified gets points equal to the number of participants minus one, and so on in the order of arrival.

However, in two of the legs there are double points at stake: the 12,750 nautical mile crossing of the Southern Ocean of stage 3 (from Cape Town to Itajaí) and the transatlantic journey of stage 5, from the US city of Newport. to Aarhus. Stage 3 points will be split between the order the teams pass through the 143 degrees east longitude and their order of finish at the end of the stage. On Leg 5, points will be doubled on a first-come, first-served basis for the 3,500-nautical-mile (4,028-mile-6,482-kilometer) transatlantic crossing. The regulation establishes that the teams that do not finish a stage will not receive points.

The final classification will be determined based on the total score of the teams in all stages, less penalty points. The team with the highest series score wins and the others are ranked accordingly.

No Comments

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version