The Montreal Tigers defeated the Surrey Jaguars in the final by five wickets, Russell playing game-winning innings

The last game of the Global T20 Canada League 2023 to be played in Canada was played between the Surrey Jaguars and the Montreal Tigers at the CAA Center in Brampton. In the title match, the Montreal team won the trophy by 5 wickets. The Surrey Jaguars team batted first of the game, scoring 130 runs. In response, the Montreal team won by hitting a six on the last ball of the game.

The Montreal Tigers team tracked the Surrey Jaguars team’s target of 131 runs, but didn’t get off to a good start and suffered the first setback with a zero score. After that, captain Chris Lynn and Shirimath Wijeratane scored 35 runs in 6 overs during the innings. Dilpreet Singh assisted Captain Lynn after Shirimathe returned to the pavilion after 12 runs.

On a score of 60, the Montreal team first lost captain Chris Lynn’s wicket and then, on a score of 61, the team suffered the fourth blow in the form of Dilpreet Singh. From here, Sherfane Rutherford and Dipendra Singh Arre together increased the score to 100 runs. Although Dipendra retired with a personal score of 16.

Now all eyes were on the pair of Rutherford and Russell in the match. After completing 19 overs, the Montreal Tigers team had 118 runs in the points with a loss of 5 wickets and needed 13 runs to win the last over. Not only did Russell hit a six on the second and final ball of that over, but he gave the team an exciting win and also won the title.

While Rutherford played an inning with 38 runs and 29 balls, Russell hit 20 runs with just 6 balls. Bowling for Surrey, captain Iftikhar Ahmed won two wickets while Ayan Khan and Spencer Johnson tied for 1-1 wickets.

Speaking of Surrey’s innings in that match, Jatinder Singh’s punching power was evident in him playing an unbeaten inning of 56 runs in 57 balls. In addition, Ayan Khan scored 26 and Mohammad Harris also scored 23 runs. Bowling for Montreal, Ayan won two wickets while Brathwaite, Russell and Abbas Afridi all tied for 1-1 wickets.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here