The list of winners of the Spaniards in the Tour de France

Spain is one of the most successful countries on French soil. The 12 overall victories in the Tour de France certifies that national cycling is one of the great dominators Second to France, winner 36 times and Belgium 18 times. Miguel Indurain has won this test five times, making him the cyclist who has done it the most times in a row (between 1991 and 1995).. Within the Spanish Palmares, followed by Alberto Contador, double winner (2007 and 2009), and Federico Martín Bahamontes (1959), Luis Ocaña (1973), Perico Delgado (1988), Óscar Pereiro (2006) and Carlos Sastre (2008), who are in yellow after Paris came once.

Federico Martin Bahamontes (1959)

Spain’s first victory in the Tour de France came in 1959. Federico Martín Bahamontes was able to achieve an overall standings in which he surpassed Jacques Anquetil, eventual winner of the French round, by more than five minutes. The Spanish cyclist won stage 15 of the French round at Puy-de-Dôme and took the lead on stage 17 after leading the peloton by more than three minutes. In addition, “El Águila de Toledo” won the mountain classification.

Bahamontes celebrates victory in the 1959 Tour de France.
Bahamontes celebrates victory in the 1959 Tour de France.

Luis Ocana (1973)

The Spanish cyclist dominated the 1973 Tour de France. He won six stages in this edition of the French Round, leading second-placed Bernard Thévenet by more than 15 minutes. Luis Ocaña took the yellow jersey on day seven and kept it until Paris Thanks to his mastery of the time trial and his superiority in the mountains.

Perico Delgado (1988)

The third Tour de France for Spain came from Perico Delgado. The Reynolds cyclist managed to arrive in yellow in Paris after several attempts to win the yellow jersey. The Segovian, runner-up in 1987, He finished first in the general classification on July 14 (France’s national day) at Alpe d’Huez and won the time trial the following day, thereby winning the French round general classification in which he overtook his closest pursuer by more than seven minutes.

Miguel Indurain (1991, 1992, 1993, 1994 and 1995)

The Navarrese runner dominated the Tour de France in the early 1990s. In those five years Miguel Indurain he won ten stage wins, all against time, and demonstrated his superiority in this modality to consolidate his victories in the French Round. He has won five consecutive Tour de Frances and is the cyclist with the most overall victories, along with Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx and Bernard Hinault.

Miguel Indurain drives with the yellow jersey
Miguel Indurain drives with the yellow jerseyBLOND JESUSACE DAILY

Oscar Pereiro (2006)

The 2006 Tour de France was dominated by doping. Floyd Landis, winner of that edition, was stripped of his title and Óscar Pereiro was declared the winner of the French round. Nobody expected the Spanish cyclist in the swimming pools, however On Day 13, he led the peloton by almost 30 minutes and got fully involved in the fight for the yellow jersey that was taken from him in the time trial before Paris. However, The American’s positive testosterone levels led to Óscar Pereiro winning the Tour de France.

Alberto Contador (2007, 2009)

The Spanish cyclist was the winner of the Tour de France in 2007 and 2009. The French round was dominated by national cycling and proof of that was Madrid. His first overall win was hard fought against a Cadel Evans just 23 seconds behind the Madrid man. However, Alberto counter He clinched a more comfortable victory at the 2009 edition thanks to a devastating attack in Verbier to which none of the favorites could react. The Madrid man was the last Spanish winner of the Tour de France, capping four years of total dominance.

Alberto Contador celebrates the Tour de France on the Champs Elysees
Alberto Contador celebrates the Tour de France on the Champs ElyseesBLOND JESUSACE DAILY

Carlos Tailor (2008)

His mountain dominance and exceptional stage 17 climb to Alpe d’Huez gave the Madrid man victory in the 2008 Tour de France who was only threatened in the final time trial but managed to keep Cadel Evans at bay. The Madrid native managed to retain the yellow jersey and raise his hands on the Champs-Élysées in Paris.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here