The King of Spain Journalism Awards open the call for its 2024 edition

The EFE Agency and the Spanish Agency for International Development Cooperation (AECID) open this Thursday a new call for the King of Spain International Journalism Awards, some reference awards in the Ibero-American sphere, endowed with 10,000 euros for each of its six categories, an economic amount that places them at the Pulitzer level.

This is the 41st edition of these awards, which recognize the informative work of journalism professionals in Spanish and Portuguese in the States that make up the Ibero-American Community of Nations and with the countries with which Spain maintains ties of a historical nature and cultural relations and cooperation.

The president of the EFE Agency, Gabriela Cañas, stressed the “enormous satisfaction” which means opening a new edition of the awards, since it means “continuing to support the exercise of good journalism, slow cooking, creative, constructive or denouncing. We see it every year”.

Cañas also recalled the work carried out in each call by the “expert and international” jury, of which she is a part, analyzing “to the core” the works presented“so that the excellence of Ibero-American journalism wins”.

“Thanks to the constant and valuable support of the AECID, one of the fundamental actors of Spanish cooperation, which depends on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, European Union and Cooperation and the support of the Crown of Spain, the EFE Agency maintains these awards in what highest level of international prestige”, he added.

For his part, the director of the AECID, Antón Leis, highlighted the importance of these awards, since there are still countries where being a journalist “could even cost one’s life”.

“In the year in which we celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, these awards continue to be relevant to value journalism committed to truthful information, which guarantees the human right to freedom of opinion and expression. , a central pillar for building strong and inclusive democracies and a work priority for Spanish Cooperation,” said Leis.


The King of Spain International Journalism Awards recognize six journalistic works in six different categories in text, digital, video or audio format.

the one of Narrative Journalism is awarded to the best story, in any mediumwhich contributes to the right to information of citizens and promotes their general interest in knowledge.

Read Also:  Spain Secures Dominant Win Over Fiji in U-20 World Cup, Maintaining Strong Competition Record

The International Cooperation and Humanitarian Action is intended to highlight the work that helps disseminate values ​​related to education or sport and collaborate in the creation of fairer, more cohesive societies and improve people’s lives.

The Prize of Environmental Journalism distinguishes those stories that contribute to communication of behaviors and models of sustainable development, as well as a greater socio-environmental culture.

Together with the three previous ones, the Cultural Journalism Award for works that help disseminate related values with culture or art with the aim of creating more informed societies and encouraging people’s creative and critical thinking.

Also the one of Photography, for the best image or graphic report, that stands out for its particular approach and explores all the possibilities of this support.

The six categories are completed with the International Journalism Award for the Ibero-American Media, aimed at making visible the informative work of the Ibero-American media that publishes in Spanish -as well as in any of the languages ​​of the Spanish State- or Portuguese.


This call will remain open from today, June 29, through September 29, 2023. Both dates included.

Journalists from the entire Pan-Iberian sphere can aspire to these awards: the twenty-two Ibero-American countries (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Spain, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay , Peru, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Dominican RepublicUruguay and Venezuela), Angola, Cape Verde, the United States, the Philippines, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Israel, Morocco, Mozambique, the Principality of Andorra, Sao Tome and Principe and East Timor.

In addition, professional associations of journalists, institutions, as well as the foreign cooperation units of the AECID and the Agencia EFE delegates in those countries may propose candidacies for these awards.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here