The Indian women’s team may give these players a chance in the T20 match against New Zealand

The Indian women’s cricket team will prepare for the one-day World Cup against New Zealand in a limited series of six matches, starting with the only T20I on Wednesday. The ODI series will be played from February 12. The intention of both teams will be to register a victory taking into account the next World Cup.

To reduce the risk of corona, all matches will be held in Queenstown. The Indian team has come this far after serving a ten-day quarantine in Christchurch. ODI captain Mithali Raj said that through these six matches, the key players for the World Cup to be held in March-April will be known.

Mithali, who is not playing T20 matches, said in the virtual press conference: “It is a different format. The team will do everything to win. This will give us an idea of ​​the wicket and where there is room for improvement in performance.

T20 captain Harmanpreet Kaur would like to keep the momentum going after a hot run in the Women’s Big Bash League. The topic of workload management is important in the Corona era, but Mithali said that fast bowlers have to adapt to the situation, so this topic is secondary for them. “It will take two or three games to adjust to the situation,” she said.

He said: “We are playing this series to prepare for the World Cup. This will give us an idea of ​​the grounds and the composition of the team. We will do our best and play to win. It is important to get the momentum before the World Cup .

Read Also:  Babar Azam suffers a defeat in the ICC T20 rankings, this batsman is ahead

New Zealand captain Sophie Devine described India as women’s cricket’s “dormant superpower” and said playing them would be great to prepare for the World Cup. “Our goal is to find the right team mix through this series before the World Cup. We will try to win by playing an aggressive game.

India: Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Shefali Verma, Yastika Bhatia, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh, Sneh Rana, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh, Tania Bhatia, Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Simran Bahadur, S Meghna.

New Zealand: Sophie Devine, Amy Satterthwaite, Suzy Bates, Lauren Down, Maddie Green, Brooke Holiday, Haley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Jess Kerr, Mellie Kerr, Frankie McKay, Rosemary Meyer, Katy Martin, Hannah Rowe, Lee Tahuhu.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here