The FIA ​​will review the rule that almost left Alonso without a podium in Jeddah

It was a crazy night in Jeddah, even more in the offices than on the track. Having celebrated his 100th Formula 1 podium with Pérez and Verstappen with the enthusiasm and euphoria appropriate for the occasion, the FIA ​​took the third-placed trophy from Alonso to give it to Russell after applying a ten-second post-race penalty. Until three hours later, the commissioners backtracked on their decision and returned to leave things as they had been ruled on the asphalt. A rectification that has made them reflect.

So much so that the FIA ​​will review the rule that caused the sanctions to come and go in order to prevent something similar from happening again. Let’s remember that the ten-second penalty was applied because the Aston Martin rear jack mechanic touched the car before the five seconds of the first penalty for Alonso had expired (for positioning himself incorrectly on the grid) and, at first, it was considered that he worked on the car, something prohibited, but then the British team proved that this was not the case and managed to overturn the sanction.

This is how the international federation explains it in a statement: “The request to the stewards for the review of the initial decision was made in the last lap of the race and the subsequent decision of the stewards to listen and grant the right of review by the competitor (the Aston Martin team) was the result of new tests regarding the definition of ‘working on the car’, for which there were conflicting precedents, and this has been exposed by this specific circumstance”.

Read Also:  Betis changes plans with Nobel Mendy

Thus, “This issue will be addressed at the next Sports Advisory Committee that will take place on Thursday, March 23” and the FIA ​​agrees to issue “a clarification before the Australian GP” next week (from March 31 to April 2) so that the next time the cars return to the asphalt everything is clear. “This open approach to the review and improvement of its processes is part of the FIA’s ongoing mission to regulate the sport in a fair and transparent manner,” they conclude.

What the regulation says

The article of the Sports Regulations that caused the confusion and on which Aston Martin’s claim revolved is the 54.4c), and reads as follows: “While a car is stopped in the pit lane as a result of incurring a penalty in accordance with Articles 54.3a) (five second penalty) or 54.3b) (ten second penalty) above , no work can be done on it until the car has been stationary for the duration of the penalty.” As you read, it says ‘work’, not ‘touch’, and that is what the FIA ​​will review to avoid misinterpretations.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here