The 78 Getxo Circuit will bring together six World Tour teams

The 78th Circuit of Getxo-Memorial Hermanos Otxoa, which will take place on July 30 on Biscayan roads over a 193.3-kilometre route, will bring together a squad of 18 teams, six of which will be in the World Tour category. UAE, Lidl-Trek, Cofidis, Movistar, Astana and Bora-Hansgrohe are the half dozen squads of the highest category that will be at the starting line located one more year next to the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, as announced by the organizers at the presentation of the career.

In addition, the ‘pro team’ sports groups Caja Rural, Kern Pharma, Euskaltel-Euskadi, Burgos-BH, Eolo Kometa (Italy), Human Powered Health (United States) and Total Energies (France) are registered; and the ‘continentals’ Electro Hiper Europa, JCL Team Urkyo (Japan), Sicasal (Angola), Global 6 (New Zealand) and Victoria Sports (Philippines).

The main novelty of this edition will be a second ascent to Pike Bidea, the 2-kilometer wall with an average unevenness of 14 percent discovered for professional cycling by this Getxo Circuit in 2020 and key point for the outcome of the first stage of the Tour de France which was held on the 1st with departure and arrival in Bilbao.

In total there will be six scoring steps for the mountain prize, two by Pike, second category, and four by Unbe, third category, which will be decisive in determining the successor of Juan Ayuso, who premiered his professional record last year in Getxo. The honorary director, a distinction that the organizers of the Punta Galea Cycling Society award to a cyclist who has participated in the Getxo Circuit, will be in this edition the former Biscayan rider Julián Gorospe.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here