T20 World Cup winners Mitchell Marsh and Josh Hazlewood join this special Yuvraj Singh club

Image source: AP
T20 World Cup winners Mitchell Marsh and Josh Hazlewood join this special Yuvraj Singh club

Aaron Finch’s Australia defeated New Zealand by 8 wickets in the 2021 ICC World Cup final on Sunday night to win the title. Australia also became the T20 champion for the first time with this victory. Batting first, the Kiwi team had set a 173-run goal against the Kangaroos, which Australia achieved with 7 balls to spare on the half-century base of Mitchell Marsh and David Warner. Australia made some records with this win, let’s take a look at it.

Australia’s sixth World Cup and eighth ICC title

Australia became the T20 champion for the first time by defeating New Zealand. With this victory, the Australian cabinet added the VI World Cup. Australia, prior to this, this champion team has won the ODI World Cup 5 times (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015). At the same time, it was Australia’s eighth ICC title. In addition to the World Cup, the Kangaroo team also won the Champions Trophy in 2006 and 2009.

Mitchell Marsh and Josh Hazlewood equal Yuvraj Singh

Mitchell Marsh and Josh Hazlewood, who were part of Australia’s T20 World Cup winning team, have matched former Indian off-roader Yuvraj Singh. Before this World Cup, Yuvraj was the only player to win the U19 World Cup, the T20 World Cup and the ODI World Cup. With Australia’s win over New Zealand, Marsh and Hazlewood have also joined the club. Previously, both players had won the U19 World Cup in 2010, the ODI World Cup in 2015.

Australia dominates New Zealand in ICC tournaments

The New Zealand team had come out in the final match of the 2021 ICC World Cup T20 with the intention of avenging the 2015 World Cup loss to Australia, but after Sunday’s defeat, the New Zealand players only remained disappointed. With this, Australia made a record by defeating New Zealand in major tournaments such as ODI World Cup, Champions Trophy and T20 World Cup. Previously, the West Indies were the only team that had performed so well against a single team in a major tournament. The West Indies have beaten England in all of these tournaments.

Read Also:  T20 World Cup 2024: I haven't even played a single World Cup yet, what if you don't have a chance now...

Man of the match in the T20 World Cup final

Irfan Pathan (3/16)
Shahid Afridi (54 * and 1/20)
Craig Kisswater (63 years)
Marlon Samuels (78 and 1/15)
Kumar Sangakkara (52 *)
Marlon Samuels (85 *)
Michelle Marsh (77 *)

Players to be named Player of the Tournament at the T20 World Cup

Shahid Afridi (2007)
Tillakaratne Dilshan (2009)
Kevin Pietersen (2010)
Shane Watson (2012)
Virat Kohli (2014)
Virat Kohli (2016)
David Warner (2021)

Warner made a record after Pietersen

There have been a total of 7 editions of the T20 World Cup so far, of which 5 times the player of the tournament became the player who was deprived of the title. So far this has happened only twice when the Player of the Tournament has gone to the player who has lifted the title. Before Warner, England’s Kevin Pietersen did this feat in 2010.


Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here