Stars lead Golden Gloves, Alberto, Valdez and Uceta win awards

Three Eastern Stars players top the list of winners of the Gold Glove trophy of the Los Dominicanos Primero Cuqui Córdova Awards from TotalEnergies, corresponding to the regular series of the current Dominican professional baseball championship.

They are outfielders Junior Lake and Socrates Brito, and shortstop Jeremy Peña.

The list of players awarded for their defensive work is completed by first baseman Aderlín Rodríguez and pitcher Iván Nova, from the Leones del Escogido; central patrolman Leody Taveras and receiver Francisco Peña, from Águilas Cibaeñas; second baseman Richard Ureña, from the Gigantes del Cibao and third baseman Dawel Lugo, from the Tigres del Licey.

These awards are recognized as the official awards of the Dominican Republic Professional Baseball League to the best defensive players at each position during the regular series.

The award, founded in 1970 by the sports historian Emilio Nicolás Córdova (Cuqui), each year recognizes the work of the most outstanding native ball players.

The journalists Roosevelt Comarazamy, Tony Piña, Luichy Sánchez, José Antonio Mena, Américo Celado, Kevin Cabral, Rolando Guante, Junior Matrillé, Víctor Báez and Mario Emilio Guerrero, members of the Original Jury of the Awards, together with the leaders Félix Fermín, of Las Águilas and José Offerman, from Licey, were in charge of selecting the winners.

In this season’s edition of TotalEnergies’ Los Dominicanos Primero Cuqui Córdova Awards, Hanser Alberto, a Giants infielder, was elected Most Valuable Player and achieved the award for Best Hitter of the regular series by finishing with the highest offensive average, while César Valdez, starter of the Tigres, was selected Most Valuable Pitcher and Veteran of the Year, recognition that distinguishes the player with experience of 10 or more seasons of experience in the league with the best performance.

Read Also:  DC vs GT: Gujarat lost by 4 runs in a thrilling game and won with the last ball despite scoring 224 runs.

In the other votes, Edwin Uceta, starting pitcher of the Eastern Stars, was chosen as Rookie of the Year; the election of the Manager of the Year fell on José Offerman, from Licey and the award for Best Pitcher went to Ronel Blanco, reliever of the Stars.

The journalists received an honorable mention for their outstanding work during the regular series: Leody Taveras, from Águilas Cibaeñas; Jimmy Paredes, from the Lions of the Chosen One; Junior Lake, from the Stars; Raúl Valdez, from Los Toros del Este and Jairo Asencio, from Licey.

This year’s awards are dedicated to former pitcher Francisco Cordero, in recognition of his outstanding career in Major League Baseball.


Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here