Sri Lanka’s ‘do or die’ match against India, know the record of both teams in Pune

The second T20 match between India and Sri Lanka will be played on January 5 (Thursday). This match between the two teams will take place at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune. In this match, the Indian cricket team will enter with the intention of taking a decisive lead in the series. At the same time, to stay in the series, Sri Lanka will have to win this match at all costs. The India team is ahead 1-0 in the series by winning the first match played in Mumbai. In such a situation, there will be pressure on the away team to come back in the T20 series. Let us tell you how many matches have been played between India and Sri Lanka in Pune so far and what was their result.

Not many T20 International matches have been played at the MCA Stadium in Pune. If you look at the statistics, there have only been three games here in total. So far, two T20 matches have been played between India and Sri Lanka in Pune. In both matches, there was a close fight between India and Sri Lanka. In February 2016, the Sri Lankan team played the T20 match for the first time here. In that match, the visiting team defeated India by 5 wickets. And in January 2020, once again both teams came face to face on the MCA field. This time, India avenged the previous loss by beating Sri Lanka by 78 runs. In this way, both teams in Pune are on par by winning one match each.

Read Also:  BCCI Secretary Jay Shah Confirms Indian Team's Departure Date from Barbados

The second match to be played in Pune is do or die for Sri Lanka. To stay in the series, Sri Lanka will have to win the second match at all costs. If the visiting team walks away from victory, then the series will get out of hand. With this, his dream of winning the series for the first time on Indian soil will be incomplete. Sri Lanka did better in the 2009 T20 series on Indian soil. So that series was equal to 1-1. Since then, Sri Lanka have had to face defeat every time in the T20 series on Indian soil.

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Suryakumar Yadav (Vice Captain), Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rituraj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda, Ishan Kishan, Mukesh Kumar, Harshal Patel, Akshar Patel, Jitesh Sharma, Shivam Mavi, Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Umran Malik washington sundar

Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Wanindu Hasaranga (Vice-Captain), Charith Alasanka, Ashen Bandara, Dhananjay de Silva, Avishka Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne, Lahiru Kumar, Dilshan Madhushanka, Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Pramod Madushan, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kasun Rajitha , Sadeera Samaravikrama, Mahesh Teekshana, Nuvanthusara, Dunith Vellez

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here