Spain will have five teams in the Champions League and maybe up to eight in Europe

Spanish football, for the first time, could have eight representatives in Europe next season. Sevilla’s alirón in the Europa League makes it easier. And there is only one movement left for such a feat to be confirmed: that lMendilibar finish the League outside the top seven places. Something doable.

Spain has seven tickets to play in UEFA competitions each season. In this, the first four classified in the League go to the Champions League; the fifth and sixth, to the Europa League, and the seventh, to the Conference. But those are the minimum places. There are carambolas, like the one that can happen this year, that allow the seven places to be expanded to eight. The reason is that the Europa League champion has the prize of participating in the Champions League next season. Which will lead to there being five Spanish teams in the next edition and eight adding up all the competitions. But for that amount of teams to be, it is necessary for Sevilla not to finish in seventh position. And, with a day to go, he is one point away.

What happens if Sevilla finishes seventh? Well, the place in the Conference League is lost by Spain. That It already happened two seasons ago. Villarreal finished in the same position and won the Europa League, which caused the loss of the ticket for the third European competition since it cannot be inherited for the next team in the classification. The only way to keep it is with the scenario that the Europa League champion does not finish in the top seven.

Read Also:  Lorenzo Brown Proves Dominance in Spain, Regains Top Form as 'Boss' of the Court

However, For Sevilla to finish in seventh position is complicated. Since they need to win against Real Sociedad on Sunday, that there is a draw at Osasuna-Girona and that Athletic and Rayo do not win. All this to finish seventh without the motivation to play anything, since the Champions League prize is already assured.

This is how European banknotes are in Spain

Champions: Barcelona, ​​Real Madrid, Atlético, Real Sociedad and Seville

Europa League: Villarreal and Betis

Conference League: to decide between Osasuna, Athletic, Girona, Rayo and Sevilla (if the latter finishes seventh, the place is lost).

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here