Spain aspires to make history at the Laureus Awards

Spain can make history in the next edition of the Laureus Awards. Up to six Spanish athletes and teams have been nominated for the award in the different categories of those considered ‘Oscars of Sport’ and it does so with a broad presence of women’s sports.

In the category of Best Sportsman of the Year in the men’s category, the recently retired Tom Brady, winner of seven NFL rings; Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic, champion of the Australian Open, Roland Garros and Wimbledon in 2021; American swimmer Caeleb Dressel, winner of five gold medals at the Tokyo Games; the Kenyan athlete Eliud Kipchoge, champion of the marathon event at the Tokyo Games; the Polish soccer player of the Bayern of Munich Robert Lewandowski; and the Dutch driver Max Verstappen, champion of the Formula 1 World Championship in 2021.

In the award for Best Athlete of the Year in the female category, the Barcelona soccer player Alexia Putellas starts with serious options to win the award. The Catalan, who won everything with Barça this season, has also been honored with the Women’s Ballon d’Or and with The Best for the best player of 2021. Putellas will fight for this award against athletes of the stature of the Australian tennis player Ashleigh Barty, recent Australian Open champion; the American athlete Allison Felix, Olympic gold and bronze in Tokyo at the age of 35; American swimmer Katie Ledecky, double Olympic champion in Tokyo; Australian swimmer Emma McKeon, winner of four gold medals at the Tokyo Games; and Jamaican sprinter Elaine Thompson-Herah, champion of the 100 and 200 meters and the 4×100 relay at the Tokyo Games.

Spanish sport is also notable in the category of Best Team of the Year with the presence of Barcelona Women, who have won everything this season with the Champions League as their great title. The Barça team will compete for the prize against the Argentine men’s soccer team, champion of the Copa América; the Chinese trampoline jumping team; the Italian men’s soccer team in Italy, champion of the European Championship; the Mercedes-AMG Petronas Formula 1 team, winners of the Constructors’ World Championship in the category; and the basketball Milwaukee Bucks, defending NBA champions.

Read Also:  UFC Fighter Update: Dani Bárez Returning to Octagon in September

There is also a Spanish presence among the nominees for Best Comeback of the Year with the presence of motorcycle racer Marc Márquez and his return to MotoGP after the numerous operations he underwent on his shoulder. Márquez shares a nomination with the American gymnast Simone Biles, the British skater Sky Brown, the British cyclist Mark Cavendish, the British jumper Tom Daley, Olympic gold medalist on trampoline; and the Dutch Movistar cyclist Annemiek Van Vleuten

The Laureus have also surprised with the high level of nominees in the category of Best Newcomer of the Year, in which another Spaniard appears nominated: the Barcelona Football Club footballer Pedri, who will have as rivals for the Olympic gold award in javelin throw , the Indian Neeraj Chopra; Russian tennis player and US Open champion Daniil Medvedev, British tennis player and US Open champion Emma Raducanu; the Olympic champion and triple jump world record holder, the Venezuelan Yulimar Rojas; and the Australian swimmer Ariarne Titmus, winner of two golds, one silver and one bronze at the Tokyo Olympics.

In the category of best action sports athlete, Alberto Ginés from Extremadura, Olympic gold in Climbing, appears as one of the six nominees. Ginés will fight for the award against the Olympic surfing champions, the Brazilian Italo Ferreira and the American Carissa Moore, the Olympic skate champion Yuto Horigome or the Olympic BMX champion Bethany Shriever.

Spanish sport also has great prominence in the category of Best Athlete with a disability with the presence of Susana Rodríguez, gold in paratriathlon at the Paralympic Games. The Galician triathlete shares the nomination with the Dutch tennis player Diede de Groot, the Swiss athlete Marcel Hug, the Japanese tennis player Shingo Kunieda, the Dutch cyclist Jetze Plat and the British cyclist Sarah Storey

For the Sport for Good trophy, the Laureus Academy has nominated the German climbing team Ich Will Da Rauf!, the Brazilian association Jucà Pe Cagnà, the Lesotho soccer association Kick 4 Life, the American baseball association and softball Lost Boyz INC and the Japanese climbing association Monkey Magic.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here