Spain Announces 12-Man Squad for Olympic Qualification: Scariolo’s Pre-Games Roster

Sergio Scariolo Announces Final Pre-Olympic Roster

The Spanish national basketball team coach, Sergio Scariolo, has announced the final roster of 12 players who will participate in the upcoming Pre-Olympic tournament, scheduled to take place in Valencia this Tuesday.

The players who will make up the team are: Lorenzo Brown, Juan Núñez, Alberto Díaz, Sergio Llull, Darío Brizuela, Rudy Fernández, Xabi López-Aróstegui, Juancho Hernangómez, Jaime Pradilla, Santi Aldama, Usman Garuba, and Willy Hernangómez.

Álex Abrines and Joel Parra were initially included in the list, but were ruled out due to injury. Sergio De Larrea was also a guest player, but did not make the final cut.

The Pre-Olympic tournament will feature four teams competing for the final spots at the Olympic Games. Spain has been drawn into a relatively easy group, facing Lebanon on Tuesday and Angola on Wednesday. If they progress to the next phase, they will face either Poland or Finland in the semifinals on Saturday. The final match will be played against the winner of the Bahamas team, which boasts NBA players Deandre Ayton, Buddy Hield, and Eric Gordon.

Only the champion of the Pre-Olympic tournament will secure a spot at the Olympic Games. The draw has already placed the champion in a group with Canada, Australia, and the winner of the Piraeus Olympic Qualifiers, which features Greece and Slovenia.

The Olympic basketball tournament will see 12 teams compete, with eight teams already qualifying. If Spain secures a spot, they will know which teams they will face in the group stages.

Read Also:  Córdoba Appoints Kuki Zalazar and Calderón to Squad for Second Division Campaign

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here