SCO vs NAM: Namibia beat Scotland by 4 wickets to record first win

Image source: TWITTER / @ T20WORLDCUP
SCO vs NAM: Namibia beat Scotland by 4 wickets to record first win

Abu dhabi Namibia thrashed Scotland by four wickets in a group two match of the Super 12 stage of the ICC T20 World Cup here on Wednesday when left arm pacemakers Ruben Trumpelman and Jane Frylink played scintillating bowling. The Scotland team was only able to handle 109 of eight against the bowls of Trumpelman (3 of 17) and Frylink (2 of 10), who took three wickets in the first change. This is the best performance of Trumpman’s career, playing Game 6. For Scotland, Michael Leask was the leading scorer with 44 runs. Apart from them, only Chris Greaves (25) and starter Matthew Cross (19) could reach double digits.

In response, Namibia posted a victory at 115 of six with five balls to spare thanks to innings from JJ Smit (32 without 23 balls, two sixes and two fours) and starter Craig Williams (23). Michael Van Lingen (18) and Williams got off to a good start adding 28 runs for the first wicket. Van Lingen hit Josh Davy for two consecutive fours, but Safyaan Sharif was caught by Richie Berrington. Namibia scored 29 runs for a wicket in the power play. Williams and James Green (09) then advanced the innings.

Green hit a four on Chris Greaves, while Williams hit Mark Watt during the first six of innings to complete the team’s half-century in the ninth. Greaves delivered the second blow to Namibia by catching Green at the hands of Munsey. Lisk (2 of 12) then pitched captain Gerhard Erasmus (04) while Watt stumped Williams to make Namibia 67 out of four. Smit and David Wiese (16) took the lead.

Namibia needed 35 runs to win from the last six overs. After hitting a limit on Sharif, Smit brought Greaves’ ball to the audience. Visi also hit a six on the list, but fell victim to this bowler. Namibia needed seven runs from the last two overs. Smit evened the score with a four on the Bradley Wheel and then on the next ball, Frylink (02) returned to the pavilion. Smit gave the team the win by hitting a six to Sharif on the first ball of the last over. Previously, Namibia captain Gerhard Erasmus won the toss and chose to pitch first and Man of the Match Trumpelman proved this decision to be correct by taking three wickets in the first over himself.

Read Also:  Automating Reporting And Analytics Processes

George Munsey (00) played the first ball of the Trumpleman game at the wickets, while Callum McLeod (00) caught the third ball from goalie Jane Green. Trumpelman, who was in good shape on the next ball, took acting captain Richie Berrington (0) lbw to make Scotland two of three. This is only the second time in T20 international cricket that a bowler has taken three wickets on the first change. In early June 2019, Angelo Mathews of Sri Lanka did this feat against the West Indies.

Cross hit Trumpleman for the first four of innings in the fifth over, but experienced David Wiese (1 of 22) caught Craig Wallace (04) lbw in the next over. The Scotland team was only able to manage 22 runs for four wickets in the power play. Lisk added 14 runs in the 11th plus with two fours at Wisi, four and six in successive deliveries by Michael Van Lingen to take the team’s score past 50. Frylink gave Scotland the fifth hit by throwing a cross into the next over. Cross hit a limit on his 33-ball innings. Lisk hit his second six off JJ Smit (1 of 20) while Greaves had four off Bernard Scholtz and Trumpelman.

Smit gave Scotland a big blow by throwing Lisk. He faced 27 balls and hit four fours and two sixes. Scotland’s racing century was completed on change 19, but in the same change, Frylink fired Mark Watts (03) while Lisc ran out in the end. Scotland’s regular captain Kyle Coetzer missed the game with a finger injury, after which Berrington took over as captain.

!function (f, b, e, v, n, t, s) {
if (f.fbq)
n = f.fbq = function () {
n.callMethod ? n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments);
if (!f._fbq)
f._fbq = n;
n.push = n;
n.loaded = !0;
n.version = ‘2.0’;
n.queue = [];
t = b.createElement(e);
t.async = !0;
t.src = v;
s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];
s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s);
}(window, document, ‘script’, ‘//’);
fbq(‘init’, ‘1684841475119151’);
fbq(‘track’, “PageView”); .

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here