Sameji and Plaza Valerio will meet for the seventh time in the final series

The representative teams of Sameji and Plaza Valerio will meet again in the grand final of the Santiago Superior Basketball Tournament 17 years after their last confrontation in 2006, where Miguel Balaguer’s pupils won the crown.

Starting this Wednesday at 8:00 a.m., these teams will play their seventh final in the history of the event, which has a special dedication to the Administrative Minister of the Presidency, José Ignacio Paliza, In-Memoriam José (Bombo) Abreu and in option to the Banreservas cup.

The series will be agreed to the best of seven games. Sameji returns to the final series after its last participation in 2015, this being its 17th appearance in history, while those from the Plaza return for the second year in a row and enter their 20th participation in the final series of this important events.

This will be the seventh time that these teams meet in the grand final, the previous occasions that they have faced each other in the Sameji and Plaza finals were in the years, 1983, 1989, 1990, 1993, 2002 and 2006, where those of the Plaza they were proclaimed champions in the first two, in such a way that Sameji dominates the finals 4-2.

Sameji, who has played 16 final series, where he has won nine titles, leaves with the main objective of obtaining his 10th crown in his history after reaching the final in the years of 1983, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992,1993, 1994 , 1995, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2014 and 2015, achieving his last champion title in 2014 against CDP and under the reins of Ernesto David Díaz.

Read Also:  Th3Antonio and GiantX debut in LEC, face off against MAD Lions' KOI

Plaza Valerio, who won his last crown in 2011, will seek his number eight in the history of the fair, managing to lead to 20 final series, including the first five from 1981 to 1985, adding his other competitions in the years, 1986, 1989, 1990, 1993, achieving another run of five consecutive years for the second time in the final series from 1999 to 2003 (1999, 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2003), likewise in the years 2006, 2011 , 2012, 2013, 2022 and the present of 2023.

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here