Puerto Rico beats Dominican three sets by two

The Puerto Rico Women’s National Volleyball Team defeated their similar team from the Dominican Republic in a close match three sets by two (25-23, 27-29, 25-22, 34-26 and 16-14), in the Group A, in the opening match of the Women’s U-21 Pan American Cup that began here, where two places are disputed for the World Championship of that category.

The Dominican Republic returns to the game this Thursday at 16:00 pm, when it faces the Cuban team, where it will try to achieve its first victory in the Pan American Cup.

The winners’ offensive attack was led by Grace Mar López with 29 points, followed by Marcelle Flores with 11 and Valeria Flores with 10. The game lasted two hours and 29 minutes.

In the lost cause, the best for the Dominican Republic was Florangel Terrero who scored 21 points, but could not avoid the defeat. He received support from Ariana Rodríguez who left with 13 points, Sophia Reynols finished with 10.

The first set was won by the Puerto Rican team 25-23, however, the Dominicans reacted in the second and a well-contested set that they took 29-27, thanks to strong spikes from the Florangel and Ariana duo.

In the third, Puerto Rico took the lead again with good shots from López and Flores, despite the fact that it was very even.

In the fourth, the criollas were not daunted and went over the limit 26-24 to level the match at two sets apiece.

The fifth was also well contested, but the Puerto Ricans got the better of it and won the match 16-14.

Read Also:  Mendy stops signing Alphonso Davies

 In the five previous editions of the biannual event, a different champion has emerged. The winning teams have been those from Peru, Mexico, the Dominican Republic, the United States and Cuba.

 In Pool A, the Dominican Republic, Cuba, and Puerto Rico play, and Pool B, also made up of three teams, includes Mexico, Chile, and Honduras. The four teams in Pool C are Argentina, Canada, Costa Rica and the United States.

 The top two Pool winners will advance to the Semifinals while the Pool winner with the third record will join the three Second Place finishers in the Quarterfinals.

 This is the sixth edition of the event that until this year brought together players of the Under-20 age. Cuba won the previous edition held in Lima, Peru.

 Peru, Mexico, the Dominican Republic and the United States were the winners of the first four editions that began in 2011.


Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here