Home Tech Official: these are the iPhones that receive (and do not receive) iOS...

Official: these are the iPhones that receive (and do not receive) iOS 16

This Monday marks the start of the Worldwide Developers Conference 2022. It is Apple’s annual software conference, where the news of the different operating systems of the Cupertino manufacturer are presented.

As you can read in our, all the news of iOS 16 have been revealed, whose final version will arrive in September. But now that Apple has already made the developer version available, the question remains: which iPhones are compatible with the new iOS 16?

iPhone 6s, iPhone SE (1st generation), and iPhone 7 don’t get iOS 16

After several years of support, there are legacy devices that will not receive this update. This is the case with the iPhone 6s and iPhone 6s Plus, but also with the first generation iPhone SE or iPod touch. More surprising (or not) is also the end of support for the iPhone 7 and iPhone 7 Plus.

Therefore, only iPhones released after 2017 will receive iOS 16. This means that the iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus or iPhone X will receive at least 6 years of updates.

iPhone to be updated to iOS 16

  • iPhone 13
  • ‌iPhone 13‌mini
  • iPhone 13 Pro
  • ‌iPhone 13 Pro‌ max
  • iPhone 12
  • iPhone 12 mini
  • ‌iPhone 12‌ Pro
  • iPhone 12 ProMax
  • iPhone 11
  • ‌iPhone 11‌ Pro
  • iPhone 11 ProMax
  • ‌iPhone‌ XS
  • ‌iPhone‌ XSMax
  • ‌iPhone‌ XR
  • ‌iPhone‌ X
  • ‌iPhone‌ 8
  • ‌iPhone‌ 8 Plus
  • ‌iPhone SE‌ (2nd generation or later)


If you have one of these iPhones, you will be able to have iOS 16 on your device. As always, there are features that are only available for newer models for hardware reasons.

No Comments

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version