Nine American countries create a “coalition” to protect the Pacific Ocean

From the ice of Alaska to that of Patagonia. On the initiative of Chile, nine countries of the American continent bordering the Pacific formed, Thursday, June 9, a “coalition for the protection of the oceans”. “The oceans (…) play a crucial role in the effects of climate change”recalled Chilean President Gabriel Boric, during the signing of the agreement on the sidelines of the Summit of the Americas in Los Angeles, where environmental protection is on the agenda.

The leaders of Colombia, Peru, Costa Rica, Ecuador and Panama as well as the foreign ministers of Canada and Mexico and the United States presidential special envoy for the climate, John Kerry, joined this initiative. “We need to work better to protect our seas because the species navies know no borders”Costa Rican President Rodrigo Chaves, one of the signatories to the agreement, told AFP.

This agreement contemplates the creation of Canadian marine protected areas in Chile. These are demarcated areas, legally recognized, to ensure the preservation of marine biodiversity. The aim is to protect unique marine species, increase tourism opportunities and promote the sustainable development of coastal communities, the Chilean Ministry of Foreign Affairs explained. Chile supports an initiative to place 30% of the surface of the oceans under protection by 2030.

Read Also:  T20 World Cup 2024: I haven't even played a single World Cup yet, what if you don't have a chance now...

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here