Netflix will charge an additional amount to those who share your account

The streaming platform Netflix will charge an additional amount to those users who share their account credentials with people who live outside the home, the company reported Wednesday in a statement on its website.

For now, this policy will be implemented on a trial basis without a deadline in Chile and Costa Rica -with an approximate extra cost of three dollars- and in Costa Rica, where it would be around 2.10 dollars per extra user.

The measure tries to curb those profiles of people who do not pay for their subscription, enjoy it from a different address than the one to which the account is linked and pay the bill half with the owner.

In the event that the platform detects that an account is being accessed from outside the home, it will require the user to enter a verification code to validate the login.

Of course, members of the basic, standard or ‘premium’ plan will be able to share their profile information, the list of their saved titles or the recommendations to another new account, but in exchange for this additional subscription.

Netflix has 222 million subscribers around the world, but the number of new users and the growth curve has moderated in recent months, so the company is trying to find new ways to make a profit.

Recently, the platform also raised the price of its services in countries such as the United States or Canada.

Read Also:  Israel's attack on Iran, live today: Latest news on the conflict in the Middle East

Recent Articles

Related News

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here